Back to Forums








View Full Version : AVAST caught something


jak3y
March 14th, 2005, 03:14 AM
Well I did a clean reinstall of WinXP, and thought I had a clean system, but i guess not...apparently a java script got through "VBS:Malware [Gen]"...some kind of javainstaller.jar...Im assuming through Firefox...(only browser i use).
...my question is this...avast asked/recommended i move it to the chest.
Now since it's moved to the chest, does that mean it is no longer a threat?
I just got AVAST today, and was barely home (went out, playin with my digital SLR, so no time). So I will read up on AVAST but wanted to know what moving to the chest would mean in terms of security.
Thanks :) :D :D :D :) :D

FastGame
March 14th, 2005, 03:40 AM
Yes if you move it to the chest its harmless, after awhile if your system still runs fine you can delete it. Moving it to the virus chest you can make sure its not a "False Positive" and you accidentally delete a important file.

You can also upload the chest files Here (http://virusscan.jotti.org/) and see what the other scanners say about it.

Read the help files and if you need assistance feel free to ask :)

Conan
March 14th, 2005, 03:46 AM
I delete everything that Avast finds.

FastGame
March 14th, 2005, 03:57 AM
I delete everything that Avast finds.
I do too :)

If your using Webshield you shouldn't get any more of that java stuff, Webshield will terminate the web site before it gets on your PC.

jak3y
March 14th, 2005, 04:28 AM
another program to add lol
webshield
*does search* :D
thanks
as for the upload, do i upload it from AVAST chest folder?(if there is one...?)
I PUT the trojan virus from the chest onto my desktop...this is what it's called "installerapplet.class" when i tried that site you listed earlier FASTGAME (http://virusscan.jotti.org/) , specifically for this file, and this is the message i get...
........."The file you uploaded is 0 bytes. It is very likely a firewall or a piece of malware is prohibiting you from uploading this file"
Thanks again appreciate it :):D:):D:):D

FastGame
March 14th, 2005, 04:45 AM
another program to add lol
webshield
*does search* :D
thanks
as for the upload, do i upload it from AVAST chest folder?(if there is one...?)
I PUT the trojan virus from the chest onto my desktop...this is what it's called "installerapplet.class" when i tried that site you listed earlier FASTGAME (http://virusscan.jotti.org/) , specifically for this file, and this is the message i get...
........."The file you uploaded is 0 bytes. It is very likely a firewall or a piece of malware is prohibiting you from uploading this file"
Thanks again appreciate it :):D:):D:):D

no no no, Webshield is part of Avast, click on the blue ball and "On Access Scanner" pops up and you'll see Webshield.

Also don't ever put the chest files on your desktop, you can upload to jotti right from the chest.

jak3y
March 14th, 2005, 04:57 AM
was a pain to find the chest folder, bought i found it anyway, made a copy of it and put it in a "computer stuff" folder on my desktop.
as for webshield, you mean, On-Access Protection Control right?

FastGame
March 14th, 2005, 05:09 AM
as for webshield, you mean, On-Access Protection Control right?
Yes ;)

was a pain to find the chest folder, bought i found it anyway, made a copy of it and put it in a "computer stuff" folder on my desktop
Now why did you do that ? leave the Avast chest folder alone and get rid of the copy you made.

Just let Avast do its job, delete chest files or leave them alone or let Avast delete them before you end up with virus all over your PC :p

jak3y
March 14th, 2005, 05:29 AM
ok deleted it, only way im accessing it now is thru the icon in the system tray.
attached is a lil history of my chest
im assuming the LAST one is because of my making a copy of the chest on my desktop (which i already deleted :D :D :D :):) )
again, thanks... :) ... :D ... :D ... :) ... :)

FastGame
March 14th, 2005, 05:43 AM
attached is a lil history of my chest
Thanks, now everyone knows you do porn :p

jak3y
March 15th, 2005, 21:41 PM
well it wasnt porn lol
it was a wallpaper site (non nude stuff:D)
but i guess scripts and spyware are pushing themselves everywhere... :rolleyes:

lynchknot
March 15th, 2005, 22:18 PM
yeah, it was err...wallpaper - that's the ticket. Damn those scripts. :p relax, some of us are "techpornez" stars

jak3y
March 15th, 2005, 22:50 PM
:mad: but it was wallpaper stuff...
i have safe porn links, if that's possible lol :p

cash_site
March 15th, 2005, 23:21 PM
LOL, FG's comments was the only reason i checked the screen shot... hehe... can you give the links pls... I would like some safe wallpapers too :p

lynchknot
March 15th, 2005, 23:52 PM
All pornographic wallpaper is safe - no protection needed - wash your hands, just in case.