Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: copying CD's

  1. #1
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430

    copying CD's

    i have a mate who has 98 installed.
    i have just put him a CD burner in.
    whilst at his house i put him Nero on(came with the burner).
    when i tried to backup the a CD the file size shown in Nero was only 484k.
    so i opened "my computer" and tried to copy and paste the audio files to a folder.
    again the file size was 484k.

    anybody any ideas as to whats going on.
    P.S the CD i was copying is about 3-4 years old.(if that's relevant)

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12
    Im not sure if i understand your information all that much but ill give it a shot...

    It could be that the Cd is damaged or has some type of copy protection that is disabling its ability to be copyed..

    but give us a bit more info..maybe try another Cd or a few others...to test it out..



    -Drew
    [b]Please Check out [URL=http://www.msfn.org/]MSFN![/URL

  3. #3
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Audio CD ? = I'm I right ? , I would not use Nero to make a CD to CD copy of Audio , especially ! an older CD. Rip to wave file using Exact Audio Copy & then burn the CD using Nero. If your going to copy an Audio CD in Nero then you need to use TAO (track at once) mode & not DAO (disk at once) mode. Or you can use Nero to rip to wave (not a good idea) and then burn using DAO mode. Audio CD to CD copy on the fly in Nero = TAO

    For excellent results in backing up Audio CD's use Exact Audio Copy (free) , rip to wave , burn in Nero (Feurio is better) and enjoy the Tunes , with EAC you will also have one of the best MP3 makers around when used with Lame.

    This may have not answered your question.....but it may have eliminated the need for an answer...?... least I hope....

    [edit]= added Lame
    Last edited by FastGame; June 21st, 2002 at 10:30 AM.

  4. #4
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    just got in.
    i'm just going to try to copy a CD on my machine,to see what happens.
    i'll get back to you later,
    cheers for the replies.
    some interesting bits there to consider.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  5. #5
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    sorted!
    just clicked on "audio CD" in the left hand pane.
    my dumb ass!
    if only i'd have looked!
    thanks guys.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12
    No Prob dood...the easyest ones get me all the time!


    -Drew
    [b]Please Check out [URL=http://www.msfn.org/]MSFN![/URL

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3
    for CD to CD i would use clone cd its one of the best ive been using it since christmas and have had no problems with it.
    -=Pugs=-

  8. #8
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    I agree pugs , Clone CD is tops in my book But harytb was trying to back up an older audio cd & if the cd is not in the best of shape then programs like Clone CD and Nero will also copy all the snaps , crackles & pops that CD scratches give ya. Neither program has error correction , new CD's should be ok in Clone or Nero.

    For best results in Audio..EAC rip to wave then burn in Nero or Feurio is the way to go...New...or...Old

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3
    i have met someone with a brain, do you know how hard that is online.

    i totaly agree and i stand corrected. your statement has been noted.
    -=Pugs=-

  10. #10
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    Originally posted by pugs
    i have met someone with a brain, do you know how hard that is online.
    if you're looking for people with brains,
    you've come to the right place pugs.

    BTW
    welcome aboard the board.

    happy posting.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  11. #11
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Originally posted by pugs
    i have met someone with a brain, do you know how hard that is online.

    i totaly agree and i stand corrected. your statement has been noted.
    Sorry pugs I didn't mean to confuse you about my intelligence , I'm just the resident test it and blow my box up first guy LOL.....that way you don't have to blow up your's

    Anyway Welcome to Forum , as you check it out you'll see that everyone is pretty much happy & if a problem should arise then everyone chips in for a fix so you can stay happy

    Enjoy & come back

  12. #12
    FatPipez TZ Veteran MSNwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    601
    Sorry pugs I didn't mean to confuse you about my intelligence , I'm just the resident test it and blow my box up first guy LOL.....that way you don't have to blow up your's
    Yepper, we smart junkies. we wait FastGame to make boo boo. we fix boo boo. we no make same boo boo. unless we drink too much.

    Welcome aboard pugs.
    Avatar by Brudda EggHead

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3
    thanx for the welcome and i hope to learn alot from you.
    -=Pugs=-

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •