Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ReInstall of XP Home.. alot of help needed

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    8

    ReInstall of XP Home.. alot of help needed

    Hi.. sorry if this will take you long but i have tried everything.. and the technician will cost me 98 an hour and for three hours. I tried installing XP Home on a new hard drive i purchased since my old piece of shit burnt after 2 years of use. Well.. I put the harddrive in the slot and it wont work.. I then get it to read diagnostics and BIOS and thats all and ten i get to install 3 disks of XP.. and then i get an error that ibrtfdc.sys is corrupted and it aborts. I am now just stuck with nothing i cant do anything. Any help please!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    8
    NOW.. I have found a Hewlett packard cd from my brothers computer that says windows xp install with sp1.. now i have my own registration key but no disk.. so i am using his.. it seems to work so far.. but will unnescessary hewlett packard files also be installed.. can i damage my computer if i load this cd? it is only the windowsxp cd i think.. not the diagnostics and such.

  3. #3
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    I don't think anything will get damaged by installing that HP version. It might be tied into the BIOS of an HP machine though, so the only way is to try.

  4. #4
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    This tutorial tells you how to create a xp installation disk from a recovery disk.

    http://www.easydesksoftware.com/recovery.htm
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    8
    ok i installed and ran everything needed.. now my mediabay hard drive wont respond. It made a clicking sound. Why is this? One thing goes wrong then another. I found a Dell Windows XP disk so i am going to use it.. BUT does formatting my hard drive twice in two days ruin it? I mean i just bought a new proimary drive and now the media bay drive is clicking. Why and what can i do.. alot of help is oviously needed.. thanks again for your time.. i know i may be difficult.

  6. #6
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    It doesn't hurt your hard drive to format it.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •