Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: XP attempts login then logs out

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation XP attempts login then logs out

    Hello,

    After a adaware scan i can't log in anymore in windows XP (all modes + restore). I receive the login screen and when I log in XP attemps to login and then immediately logs out. I can doing anything. Any ideas or reasons of this ??

    Thx

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Try this:

    Press Ctrl+Alt+Del twice at the login screen and then enter the account name as Administrator and leave the password box blank.

    If it logs you in you can then run system restore and rollback to a point before the problem started.
    Last edited by Reverend; June 3rd, 2004 at 20:14 PM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4
    It's the same result with the administrator account.

  4. #4
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    There is something running round the NET right now that is causing this. Haven't nailed down exactly what yet, spyware, virus or what...but the only fix I have seen at this point is a clean reinstall.

    Do you get a message that says "Loading your personal settings", then it changes to "Saving your personal settings" then drops back to the user name screen?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4
    Yes I get the messages "Loading your personal settings", then it changes to "Saving your personal settings" then drops back to the user name.

  6. #6
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    my brother had that last year

    i think we did a repair install and that did the trick

    please try that first

    remember you DO NOT want to format

    format will delete all your files

    do the repair installation
    (not recovery console)
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  7. #7
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    If you try the repair please let us know what happens.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4
    I've got a version of xp (maybe oem) with no possibility of repair.
    So I try the method found on next webpage:

    http://www.digitalwebcast.com/2002/0..._boot_toot.htm

    It's long but shorter than a full reinstall and IT WORKS !!!!

    Thx Charlie White and the people of this forum

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    10

    Question

    This souns like precisely the same problem I am having right now. Is there any other option than a new install cos I can't find my boot disk?

    And where does this come from? Any way of protecting against it in future i.e. watch out for.....don't use......etc?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    5

    I've also got the error

    Hi all.

    Muy XP Pro got the same " sickness " as Bijornes XP, logging me out when I should be loggin in. Saturday I used Ad-Aware and it happend right after it finished. I tried to find the error but after wasting hours in vain trying to get it to work, I began to loose my patience and tried to do a Repair install.

    I Booted from the XP install CD and this is was what happend. ..

    1st. it check the hardware
    2nd. ask if you want to load Raid drivere ( or something )
    3rd. a message saying " Press F2 to run automated System Restore "
    4th. This very strange message appeared ............

    " Insert The Disk labeled Windows XP Professionel Servicepack 1 CD into Drive A "
    When I didn't do that the installation stopped.

    I also tried the option " last known good working configuration " but I got the " Blue Screen af Death " with this STOP error ..

    0x0000008E ( 0xC0000005, 0x8059231E, 0xF84B9BAC, 0x00000000 )
    ( there's no mention of a file which causes the error )

    I've never come across such an error before, and feel a bit lost. The obviously solution would be to Format the XP partition and do a clean install, but just the thought of having to install and setup all my programs again from scratch, makes me tired.

    I've checked several Tech Boards today to see if sombody other than me, have got the error. I found a couple but no solution to fix it and some of them also mentioned that the error came right after using Ad-aware,
    I'm convinced the breakdown, has something to do with Ad-Aware.

    I've never come across such an error before, and feel a bit lost. The obviously solution would be to Format the XP partition and do a clean install, but just the thought of having to install and setup all the programs from scratch again, makes me tired.

    To Bijorne:

    I'm not sure if I have misunderstood you, but You wrote that you have used the guide from Charlie White and it works. I can't see how you could get it to work, when in an earlier post you said XP wouldn't Boot in any mode.
    Could you please Post and tell me how you got it to work and if you had to install your programs again, or if you were so lucky, that your settings wasn't deleted.

    Sadly I don't think I can use the guide, because I haven't had Systen restore enabled for year, so I don't have any files to restore.

    I'm hoping someone can come up with an Idea, so I can get the Repair installation to work and keep all my settings.

    By for now
    Sanne

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    2
    Hey there

    Found a fix on the lavasoft site...the people who bring us ad-aware.....

    Boot from win xp and go to recovery module...at the recovery prompt

    c:\windows

    type 'cd system 32' and the directory should now be

    c:\windows\system32

    type 'copy userinit.exe wsaupdater.exe'

    1 file copied

    Now , just reboot, and wait while ad-aware finishes what it was doing.

    Hope this helps...I know I'm relieved to have my machine back.

  12. #12
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Could you please include a link to the fix from the Lavasoft site?

    Excellent find BTW...Lots of people on the web having this same problem.
    Last edited by rik; June 11th, 2004 at 12:09 PM. Reason: cause I'm a stoop

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    10

    lavasoft link

    http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index...howtopic=28983

    i found this forum link on the site and it describing the precise problem i am having. Just reading through so don't know the outcome yet.

    Not sure if this is the only thread about it though.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    2
    Hi Again

    I went back to the Lavasoft site and they now have a knowledge base article.

    The link is

    http://www.lavahelp.com/articles/v6/04/06/0901.html

    Hope this helps.

    On another note, does anyone know how to find the topic # of a Lavasoft thread when you are in the thread? I find Lavasoft's search engine hard to use.

    Thanks

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by furboi
    Hey there

    Found a fix on the lavasoft site...the people who bring us ad-aware.....

    Now , just reboot, and wait while ad-aware finishes what it was doing.

    Hope this helps...I know I'm relieved to have my machine back.
    Will this still work if ad-aware is not installed on the computer that is having this problem? I'm having this problem (because I uninstalled Windows Search Assist I'm now assuming).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •