Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: IPNATHLP error

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3

    IPNATHLP error

    i keep getting ipnathlp error and my computer keeps rebooting i have windows xp and ics on but do not know how to turn it off which is supposed to stop this problem can anyone help me pls
    Last edited by bladezz; June 26th, 2004 at 15:15 PM.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    This article will tell you how to shut off ICS:
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;230112

    Hope that fixes your issue. If not come back and we can figure something else out.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3
    thx big booger but that article was for 98 and im usung xp pro and cant find any tabs that it mentioned im also using a cable modem

  4. #4
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Go to Control Panel > Network and Internet Connections.

    Right click your connection,(the one used to connect to the internet),and select properties. On the advanced tab uncheck "Allow other network users to connect through this computer's Internet connection" and click ok.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    3
    ok thx for your help that sorted my problem

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4

    =]

    YEa im getting this same thing and it is really getting annoying, i have tried wat u said b4 but i cnt find where it says that, all it says under advanced is "Protect my computer and network by limiting or preventing access to this computer from the internet" and this was already ticked


    if u can give me some more imformation would be helpful

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4
    oh and im on a cable modem

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Can you post the error exactly as it is shown in the XP event viewer? That would help troubleshoot this a lot.

    Start, control panel, administrative tools, event viewer. Scroll down and find the IPNATHLP error then either screenshot or copy and paste the contents and post them here.


    Specifically the event ID number.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4
    The Event ID is 31012

    and in the description says "The DNS proxy agent encountered an error while obtaining the local list of name-resolution servers. Some DNS or WINS servers may be inaccessible to clients on the local network. The data is the error code.
    "

    im not on a network, altho i have set up lans with mates at my house and my cable modem is usb :E

  10. #10
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    4
    yea it says aobut turning off ics, but i cnt find where to turn this off, i have tried the inet but all the sites says the same thing, where mines seems to be different

    need to find the way for my computer

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Hi

    I have the same Event ID 32003, Source: IPNATHLP problem.

    A screenshot of the most recent of many errors, is here. Thanks in advance for any help that I can get on this site.

    The problem I have is that I use ICS, so the advice to disable this facility isn't any good to me. Again, thank you for any help you can give.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    You could try deleting the Nic, and all network settings and starting over from fresh. I don't know if it will work but it may.

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    You could try deleting the Nic, and all network settings and starting over from fresh. I don't know if it will work but it may.
    Hi Big Booger, and thanks for replying

    What I've done which appears to have resolved the issue, is I've uninstalled the Sygate personal firewall I had and reinstalled Zone Alarm, allowing ZA to configure the network connections again.

    I've rebooted the PC twice since doing this, and the event log isn't showing any errors at all. Previously, the event log would show an error after a reboot.

    Sadly, I haven't learnt anything from this, but the problem appears to be resolved so I'm happy. Thanks again for replying !!! I'll stick around just in case I've any other problems that I need help or advice on. Nice site !!!

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    So Sygate might have been the root of the issue? I ditched it long ago for Agnitum Outpost.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •