Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Windows 3.1 handicap

  1. #1
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,114

    Windows 3.1 handicap

    A friend recently told me he got an old laptop with win 3.1,and no cd rom.He wants to use it for viewing jpeg's from his digital camera which has a floppy copy feature.The problem is Win 3.1 will open bmp files only.I's been a long time since I used this operating system but I don't think paint will display the jpeg's.Is there a program that anyone knows of,that is a good viewer program? Saving the jpeg's as bmp will work but the colors are washed out with only 16 color capabilities.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    What I would do and have done in this situation is get a copy of windows 95 on floppy. Then install windows 95 on that machine. With that you can surf the web, update files, and improve the overall use of the laptop.

    http://search.ebay.com/windows-95_W0...ectZ1QQfromZR8

    If that is not an option:

    http://www.chebucto.ns.ca/Services/P...sViewers.shtml

    try that software.

  3. #3
    FatPipez TZ Veteran MSNwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    601
    Yup, and if that is not an option use a browser
    Avatar by Brudda EggHead

  4. #4
    Silver Member joshsiao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    357
    Lol, windows 3.1! I remember my father used to have an old twinhead laptop running this. Good for typing stuff and playing MS DOS games. The laptop is still around and its works (I can hear boot and see power light) but the screen's fried.
    "Never seem more learnt then the people you are with. Wear your learning like a watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked."
    ~Chesterfield

  5. #5
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Quote Originally Posted by zipp51
    A friend recently told me he got an old laptop with win 3.1,and no cd rom.He wants to use it for viewing jpeg's from his digital camera which has a floppy copy feature.The problem is Win 3.1 will open bmp files only.I's been a long time since I used this operating system but I don't think paint will display the jpeg's.Is there a program that anyone knows of,that is a good viewer program? Saving the jpeg's as bmp will work but the colors are washed out with only 16 color capabilities.
    IrfanView 2.05, 230 K: A fast and small image viewing and processing tool, originally written for Win95/NT. This older version still runs on Windows 3.1x with Win32s, t
    http://www.gaby.de/ftp/pub/win3x/iview205.zip

    you will need this as well,
    WIN32s 1.30.172, 2.41M: The Win32s Extensions for Windows 3.1x. Some programs need this 32bit extension, but it enables you to run some Win9x program


    for more windows 3.1 software go here,
    http://www.win31.de/eindex.htm

    good luck
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  6. #6
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,114
    Just curious.Isn't there a program out there that can take the win95 cd and span it to floppy disks?

    BTW thanks for all the links for the viewing software,that may just work.
    Last edited by zipp51; July 13th, 2004 at 21:19 PM.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Do you have over 100 floppies?



    That would be interesting. I guess you could use winrar and setup some kind of executable compressed archive, splitting the files at the 1.44MB level??

    Not sure though.

  8. #8
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    you can take the hard drive out of the laptop and put it in your computer.
    Just buy the adaptor.

    copy the setup directory to the harddrive and run setup.exe
    ------------------------------------------------------------



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •