Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Power Supply

  1. #1
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186

    Question Power Supply

    I think I my power supply can't handle so many devices. Can someone confirm this? I have a 320W power supply and have been getting strange noises (I think from the power supply) and strange errors and sometimes my RAID doesn't get detected.

    My specs are:
    Pentium 4 Northwood 2.67GHz @ 3.0GHz
    Gigabyte P4 667 Titan 533MHz FSB Motherboard
    2 x 60GB 8MB cache Western Digital WD600JB Hard Disks
    PCI Skymaster ATA133 RAID card with Strpied RAID 0 config
    512GB PC3200 Hyundai Legend/Kingston DDR RAM
    256MB GeCube Ati 9600XT
    19" AOC Spectrum 9Klr (Dual Monitor)
    Creative Soundblaster Live 5.1 Digital SE (Audigy 2 drivers and software)
    Creative Inspire 4400 4.1 Speakers
    LiteOn DVD-RW,
    Lite-On DVD-ROM,
    56k Modem, Network card, Parallel PCI card...Windows XP Pro

    How much power should my system require?
    Last edited by coathanger007; July 21st, 2004 at 12:34 PM.

  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Try this PSU calculator:

    http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/

    And get a good brand PSU, I recommend Enermax.
    Last edited by Conan; July 21st, 2004 at 12:49 PM.

  3. #3
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Hey - thanks for that - very useful. Well, I use somewhere between 338 and 363 Watts. I'm also using a generic PS. May be time for change.
    Last edited by coathanger007; July 21st, 2004 at 21:09 PM.

  4. #4
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    I got a QPC Super quiet 380W. Sooo quiet it feels funny. Can actually hear the HDDs - though they're quiet themselves

  5. #5
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    What are the Amperage ratings?

  6. #6
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Doesn't say on the box - and I can't be bothered opening up the case again. Why?

  7. #7
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by coathanger007
    Doesn't say on the box - and I can't be bothered opening up the case again. Why?
    Cause the Amp ratings will determine the quality of the PSU. Do you have the manufacturer's web site? I searched Google and couldn't find it.

  8. #8
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Well, you can translate for me - cos I don't have a clue what these figures mean

    +3.3V 28A
    +5V 38A
    +12V 16A
    -5V 0.5A
    -12V 0.8A
    -5VSB 2.0A
    CUR:4A

    http://www.warcom.com.au/shop/flypag..._supplies/1089
    Last edited by coathanger007; July 22nd, 2004 at 09:23 AM.

  9. #9
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by coathanger007
    Well, you can translate for me - cos I don't have a clue what these figures mean

    +3.3V 28A
    +5V 38A
    +12V 16A
    -5V 0.5A
    -12V 0.8A
    -5VSB 2.0A
    CUR:4A

    http://www.warcom.com.au/shop/flypag..._supplies/1089
    The most important ratings are +12V, +5V and +3.3V.

    An amp rating in the +12 volt line below 20 amps is not too good for P4 users (especially for overclockers). For AMD users it's ok since they draw most of their power from the +3.3 line. But hey if you're PC's working fine then there's nothing to worry about. But if you start experiencing random reboots then the +12 volt line needs higher amps. Here's a comparison of my Enermax 430 watt PSU:

    +3.3V 35A
    +5V 35A
    +12V 33A
    -5V 01.0A
    -12V 01.0A
    -5VSB 2..2A
    Last edited by Conan; July 22nd, 2004 at 09:34 AM.

  10. #10
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Well, no random reboots so far on my overclocked system. Thanks for the info. Hopefully everything will continue to run smoothly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •