Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: weird explorer problem

  1. #1
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732

    weird explorer problem

    everyonce and awhile if I right click in explorer or my computer I get the kinds ms words that a problem has happened and kindly will shut down. well I check the details and its in shell.dll and app.dll. Then I debug and that helps or I have to reboot. Its starting to get really annoying.

    Ive did a virus, and spyware sweep with no results. I attached the bug report if any you can read greek go for it.

    edit. I've did a sfc /scannow, reapplied sp1 and 2. without a fix.
    Last edited by phishhead; July 23rd, 2004 at 04:22 AM.



  2. #2
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Time to reformat - haha, sorry just kidding. I hate hearing that.

  3. #3
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    no kidding right now I'm just too lazy. but more so just want to know what is causing it. all google searches have come up with a win 98 registry key that is corrupt.



  4. #4
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Do you have an image that you can just restore the DLL's.

  5. #5
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by lynchknot
    Time to reformat - haha, sorry just kidding. I hate hearing that.
    And I just love saying that!

  6. #6
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    well just want to band aid it atleast til the sp2 final comes out then gonna do a clean install of xp and sp2 so get a good feeling about it.



  7. #7
    Junior Member wolfman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    19
    Do you have any programs installed that adds stuff to the right click menu..Sounds like one of them is corrupted..picaview for example adds a new menu for previewing images..If the dll that picaview uses for that gets corrupted windows would crash if you right click on an image..Think of any programs you have installed around the time this started happening and uninstall them..See if that fixes the problem..You can always reinstall the programs if thats not the reason..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •