Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: ISDN cablenut

  1. #1
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186

    ISDN cablenut

    Anyone know what the optimal settings are for 128k ISDN using cablenut?

  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Enter your download and upload speeds here to get optimal settings:

    http://home.covad.net/~zeiler07/cablenutXP2k.html#

    For latency settings, I use TCP Optimizer to get my average latency, download here:

    http://www.speedguide.net/files/TCPOptimizer.exe

    I just actually figured out why my Internet Explorer regularly outperforms FireFox speedwise, and it's because of CableNut.

  3. #3
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    TCPOptimizer didn't recognise my network adapter. So I got this from tracert.

    Tracing route to techzonez.com [67.19.106.130]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 67 ms 63 ms 66 ms 139.134.99.241
    2 61 ms 60 ms 65 ms 139.134.99.206
    3 67 ms 65 ms 65 ms 139.134.53.177
    4 65 ms 66 ms 66 ms FastEthernet3-3.exi2.Melbourne.telstra.net [139.
    130.159.61]
    5 65 ms 65 ms 65 ms GigabitEthernet1-2.exc1.Melbourne.telstra.net [2
    03.50.77.5]
    6 64 ms 65 ms 65 ms GigabitEthernet2-1.exi-core1.Melbourne.telstra.n
    et [203.50.77.1]
    7 77 ms 77 ms 77 ms Pos-Channel1.ken-core4.Sydney.telstra.net [203.5
    0.6.153]
    8 76 ms 77 ms 77 ms 10GigabitEthernet3-0.pad-core4.Sydney.telstra.ne
    t [203.50.6.86]
    9 76 ms 80 ms 74 ms GigabitEthernet0-0.syd-core01.Sydney.net.reach.c
    om [203.50.13.242]
    10 264 ms 269 ms 264 ms i-12-0.sjc-core01.net.reach.com [202.84.143.233]

    11 251 ms 251 ms 252 ms i-11-0-0.sjc01.net.reach.com [202.84.251.54]
    12 283 ms 287 ms 281 ms 208.50.13.201
    13 287 ms 286 ms 287 ms so1-0-0-2488m.ar1.dal2.gblx.net [67.17.73.34]
    14 294 ms 299 ms 293 ms The-Planet.ge-0-2-1.ar1.DAL2.gblx.net [64.213.17
    6.150]
    15 300 ms 293 ms 299 ms dsr2-1-v1.dllstx4.theplanet.com [12.96.160.7]
    16 331 ms 322 ms 329 ms gig1-0-1.sm-car6-5.dllstx4.theplanet.com [67.18.
    116.7]
    17 307 ms 305 ms 305 ms server.colobox.co.uk [67.19.106.130]

    Trace complete.

    Which figure should I use?
    Last edited by coathanger007; July 27th, 2004 at 11:05 AM.

  4. #4
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Also, my MTU is optimized 1500 for cable. But I only have ISDN???

  5. #5
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by coathanger007
    Also, my MTU is optimized 1500 for cable. But I only have ISDN???
    You tried it at the TCP/IP Analyzer? I suggest trying out a latency setting of 300 at first (it's what I use too) then get the rest of your cablenut settings then try it out. You can always play with the latency settings later on.

  6. #6
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Tried several settings - no difference in speeds whatsoever - or negligible.

  7. #7
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by coathanger007
    Tried several settings - no difference in speeds whatsoever - or negligible.
    When I first started out with DSL it was only a 128 kbps connection that I had. Without tweaking windows I would get around 95 kbps, tweaked with cablenut it was around 110 kbps. But I noticed that pages and images would load faster.

    Try the page loading test at http://www.testmy.net/

    You can also try Stopwatch

    http://www.numion.com/Stopwatch/

  8. #8
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Thanks for the links.
    I have 125 Kbps and I'm in the blue zone for ISDN so I guess I should be happy.
    Thanks again

  9. #9
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    now are you guys connected straight to the modem or thru a router. because I played around with webroots version and didnt notice a change thru the router.



  10. #10
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Straight through modem.

  11. #11
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    now are you guys connected straight to the modem or thru a router. because I played around with webroots version and didnt notice a change thru the router.
    Through a router and I do see changes doing bandwidth tests.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •