Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: uninstalling zone alarm

  1. #1
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    near ex- world trade center
    Posts
    184

    uninstalling zone alarm

    while traveling around the past several months, i had to uninstall zone alarm but the weird thing was i was unable to do so. i checked google for some info and i had no real understanding about it.

    when i uninstalled zone alarm i got 2 error messages - both involving missing the file --vsutil.dll --- in c:\windows\system32 (WSEGetandSetInstallerRunningMutex)

    and in my C:/docs\...\temp folder (WserMdir)

    i would do a search with no results

    i would reinstall the program ( version 4. x) and still no way to uninstall.

    any hints/thoughts?

    ---
    i just happen to check to see if this new version which i gave a fresh install (5.0.590.043) and which i just installed had this file and it was now loaded in the system32 directory and in the zone alarm own - repair directory.

    i figure that za folks may have fixed it. however, i am certainly not going to uninstall to see if i can uninstall <laugh>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    might possibly try uninstalling in safemode???

  3. #3
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    near ex- world trade center
    Posts
    184
    as it ended up, i uninstalled it anyway. i had icon problems in my system tray. so i updated to version 5.1 xx and temporarily i had no icon problems. but after one day, it returned. i have to log off and log in and then everthing works as normal.

    but this also means a nice new reformat and start all over again. <sign and laugh>

  4. #4
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    974
    Quote Originally Posted by cityman
    when i uninstalled zone alarm i got 2 error messages - both involving missing the file --vsutil.dll
    I'm having a problem with vsutil.dll too . Since I formatted, I can't install ZA. I'm getting this error message during setup.

  5. #5
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    near ex- world trade center
    Posts
    184
    what i ended up doing was two things- 1) reformat my hard drive < ughh>
    2) using a different version of ZA without using the included virus program. the version was: 5.1.011.000. that solved the problem.

    if there is a workaround, i do not know of it. perhaps try a different version.

    let me know how it went.

  6. #6
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    974
    I don't think I'll reformat coz I just did! And the version I'm trying to install is 4.5 because it doesn't have any problems like version 5 does. I'll let you know if I can find any solution. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    974
    It's fixed! ZA is working as well as ever. I didn't know what to do, so I tried my luck and redownloaded the setup file. Surprisingly it worked.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Staten Island, NY
    Posts
    1
    I'm getting the same errors, and I'm at my wit's end - nothing short of a reformat seems to want to fix this. I have 4.5 Pro, and I tried reinstalling it but after it completed, it STILL wouldn't let me uninstall and still gave me the vsutil.dll error.

  9. #9
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    974
    - If you wish to keep your settings, create a Backup from Overview -
    > Preferences before starting, and then Restore afterwards.
    - Click on Start -> Programs -> Zone Labs
    - RIGHT-click on Uninstall Zone Labs Security, then select Properties
    - Under Target you will see the following line (the actual drive may
    be different on your system):

    "C:Program FilesZone LabsZoneAlarmzauninst.exe"

    Change it to:

    "C:Program FilesZone LabsZoneAlarmzauninst.exe" /clean

    (add a space and then the /clean)

    - Click OK to save the new command line.
    - Click on Start -> Programs -> Zone Labs -> Uninstall Zone Labs
    Security
    - Click OK to run the uninstaller, and OK any security alerts that
    pop up.
    - say "Yes when being prompted for the removal of all files.
    - Reboot
    - install the latest version
    ZoneLabs e-mailed me this. Try it.

  10. #10
    Bronze Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    near ex- world trade center
    Posts
    184
    hotmale:

    good to know about that advice. good for future chaos, if it happens at all.

    thanks

    cm

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •