Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: My Kazaa Lite Resurrection Doesn't work

  1. #1
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621

    My Kazaa Lite Resurrection Doesn't work

    I am not behind a router. I tryed it with my

    firewall and AV off. I didn't

    turn XP firewall on. I didn't install SP2. It

    says contact the Kazaa lite company on the error message. I

    have uninstalled and reinstalled K-Lite Ressurection. I ran

    Spybot. K-Lite R still doesn't work. I ran system restore a

    couple of days ago. Could that have done something?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    PS. My Windows XP firewall was turned off. I just

    remembered, I turned off a lot of services according

    to Black Vipers recomendation.

    Thanks
    Last edited by veronica; August 10th, 2004 at 09:47 AM.

  3. #3
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Try the original Kazaa lite K++ - I'm hosting it here:
    http://decentdownloads.x-istence.com...itekpp242e.exe

  4. #4
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by coathanger007
    Try the original Klite - I'm hosting it here:
    http://decentdownloads.x-istence.com...itekpp242e.exe
    I originally had Kazaa Lite + +. Then I got Kazaa

    Lite Resurrection. It still doesn't work.

    Thanks for replying

  5. #5
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    What is the exact error you're getting? Maybe a screenshot?

    An alternative that's clean is E-Mule:
    http://www.emule-project.net/
    Last edited by coathanger007; August 10th, 2004 at 09:54 AM.

  6. #6
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by coathanger007
    What is the exact error you're getting? Maybe a screenshot?

    An alternative that's clean is E-Mule:
    http://www.emule-project.net/
    At 1st "It

    said something is wrong. Kazaa has to shut down. Contact the Kazaa lite

    company" on the error message. I did system restore back to 8-3-04. Then it

    said "the string Kazaa was on in the registry no longer exists". It asked to send

    an error report. I sent the error report many times.

  7. #7
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    veronica I think its time to switch to torrent client or donkey client for your p2p program. I would stay away from kazaa myself since the riaa is on it like a fly on sh!t.



  8. #8
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by coathanger007
    Try the original Kazaa lite K++ - I'm hosting it here:
    http://decentdownloads.x-istence.com...itekpp242e.exe
    I downloaded from your site. It didn't work. This is the error report.

    Important information.

    Browser security settings may impair site functionality

    JavaScript and cookies must be enabled

    Microsoft Online Crash Analysis uses JavaScript and cookies to display content correctly.

    To upload your error report or check the status of a previously submitted error report, ensure that your browser security settings meet the following requirements:

    * JavaScript must be enabled.
    * Cookies must be enabled.


    Analysis Information

    Thank you for submitting an error report. The error was likely caused by:

    Kazaa Lite

    Kazaa Lite is distributed by many companies. Please contact the company that provided you with Kazaa Lite. If you are unsure about which company provided you with Kazaa Lite contact K-Lite.

  9. #9
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Sorry, don't have a clue. The error only tells me why error report can't be sent. Tells me nothing about why klite crashed. I think you're better off trying something else like e-mule rather than wasting time with this.

  10. #10
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by veronica
    I downloaded from your site. It didn't work. This is the error report.

    Important information.

    Browser security settings may impair site functionality

    JavaScript and cookies must be enabled

    Microsoft Online Crash Analysis uses JavaScript and cookies to display content correctly.

    To upload your error report or check the status of a previously submitted error report, ensure that your browser security settings meet the following requirements:

    * JavaScript must be enabled.
    * Cookies must be enabled.


    Analysis Information

    Thank you for submitting an error report. The error was likely caused by:

    Kazaa Lite

    Kazaa Lite is distributed by many companies. Please contact the company that provided you with Kazaa Lite. If you are unsure about which company provided you with Kazaa Lite contact K-Lite.
    According to firefox, I am accepting cookies. Java is enabled. I tried K-Lite Ressurrection too. Previously the error message said a string was missing from the registry.

  11. #11
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Don'y worry about the java and cookies - has nothing to do with klite. Usually reinstalling would fix up the missing registry string but you've prolly already reinstalled. Troubleshooting this is outside my abilities - sorry.

  12. #12
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Shareaza connects to many of these networks, including bittorrent. And it just recently went open source.. so even if they want to, the RIAA probably couldn't stop development on it.

    http://www.shareaza.com/

  13. #13
    Banned coathanger007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    186
    Thanks Big Booger. I've just switched over to Shareaza

  14. #14
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by veronica
    According to firefox, I am accepting cookies. Java is enabled. I tried K-Lite Ressurrection too. Previously the error message said a string was missing from the registry.
    I found the problem. SPYBOTs new definitions removes a registry file for KAzaa. I used the recover thingy and put it back. It now works. The item that Spybot thinks is spyware has KAZAA in its name.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    19
    Oh, ok so the problem is solved - good that all's well now.
    But there were some scenarios where the KPP would keep crashing, and so on. The best option normally was to upgrade to the latest version downloadable. You can get the final (resurrection was sort of previews for the faithful) version - 2.5.5 - of K-Lite from here:
    http://www.tcmagazine.info/modules.p...ticle&sid=7263

    But as already said above, ShareAza is the best option. But then it has too much reliance on the ed2k network. I frequently run into situations where no download occurs for 3 days (despite 500+ sources) - no problemo for me, but dial-up'ers will find that to be a problem.
    Cheers !!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •