Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Browser Homepage Changed;Ads Popping Up, Search Assistant, Shopping Wizard etc.

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    6

    Browser Homepage Changed;Ads Popping Up, Search Assistant, Shopping Wizard etc.

    Here's my log from HijackThis.. Please help me!


    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.7
    Scan saved at 5:17:27 PM, on 8/10/2004
    Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSTASK.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MFCEM32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RESTORE\STMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
    C:\COMPAQ\CPQINET\CPQINET.EXE
    C:\CPQS\BWTOOLS\SCCENTER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\PCTVOICE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\BTTNSERV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\IP INSIGHT\IPMON32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CTHELPER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\LOGITECH\ITOUCH\ITOUCH.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\KODAKCCS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\USBMONIT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\CONNECTIONMANAGER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\APPGK32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXBCES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\EAUSBKBD.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\YKT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\LEXPPS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\IP INSIGHT\IPCLIENT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\MESSENGER\YPAGER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\DESKTOP\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = res://C:\WINDOWS\kolgx.dll/sp.html#96676
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = res://C:\WINDOWS\kolgx.dll/sp.html#96676
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = res://C:\WINDOWS\kolgx.dll/index.html#96676
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://desktop.presario.net/scripts/...nsumer&LC=0409
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = res://C:\WINDOWS\kolgx.dll/sp.html#96676
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = res://C:\WINDOWS\kolgx.dll/index.html#96676
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = res://C:\WINDOWS\kolgx.dll/sp.html#96676
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = res://C:\WINDOWS\kolgx.dll/sp.html#96676
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = res://C:\WINDOWS\kolgx.dll/index.html#96676
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = res://C:\WINDOWS\kolgx.dll/sp.html#96676
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = res://C:\WINDOWS\kolgx.dll/sp.html#96676
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Window Title = Microsoft Internet Explorer
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/cust.../www.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {6EFA360B-E14E-2EE6-8753-60550DA77A41} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPEJARN.DLL (file missing)
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {89856A69-C930-ABFC-EC5F-C1B2FF7838B0} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IPKM32.DLL
    O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,-1@1033,&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCHealth] C:\WINDOWS\PCHealth\Support\PCHSchd.exe -s
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Hidserv] Hidserv.exe run
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CPQInet] c:\compaq\CPQInet\CpqInet.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Service Connection] c:\cpqs\bwtools\sccenter.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CountrySelection] pctptt.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PCTVOICE] pctvoice.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AvconsoleEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VsecomrEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSEcomR.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Vshwin32EXE] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VsStatEXE] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\VSSTAT.EXE /SHOWWARNING
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IPInSightMonitor 01] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\SBC YAHOO!\CONNECTION MANAGER\IP INSIGHT\IPMon32.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CTHelper] CTHELPER.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Jet Detection] "C:\Program Files\Creative\SBLive\PROGRAM\ADGJDet.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [zBrowser Launcher] C:\Program Files\Logitech\iTouch\iTouch.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LexStart] Lexstart.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LexmarkPrinTray] PrinTray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KodakCCS] C:\WINDOWS\System32\Drivers\KodakCCS.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [USBMonit.exe] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\USBMonit.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SBC Yahoo! Connection Manager] C:\PROGRA~1\SBCYAH~1\CONNEC~1\ConnectionManager.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadQM] loadqm.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [APPGK32.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\APPGK32.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTTASK.EXE" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SchedulingAgent] mstask.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [*StateMgr] C:\WINDOWS\System\Restore\StateMgr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [Vshwin32EXE] C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [MFCEM32.EXE] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MFCEM32.EXE
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MoneyAgent] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Money\System\Money Express.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Ajsnr] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ykt.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\PROGRAM FILES\MSN MESSENGER\MSNMSGR.EXE" /background
    O9 - Extra button: Translate (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AV &Translate (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Find Pages Linking to this URL (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Find Other Pages on this &Host (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AV Live (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst0401.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B9191F79-5613-4C76-AA2A-398534BB8999} - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yaho...tocomplete.cab
    O16 - DPF: {2FC9A21E-2069-4E47-8235-36318989DB13} (PPSDKActiveXScanner.MainScreen) - http://www.pestscan.com/scanner/axscanner.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.co...206.4260763889
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/s...sh/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9EB320CE-BE1D-4304-A081-4B4665414BEF} (MediaTicketsInstaller Control) - http://www.mt-download.com/MediaTicketsInstaller.cab
    O16 - DPF: {10000000-1000-0000-1000-000000000000} - file://C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\vhbieocx.exe
    O16 - DPF: ppctlcab - http://www.pestscan.com/scanner/ppctlcab.cab

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    6
    Could someone please help me! I'm trying to figure this out myself but nothing happens. I looked through the other messages but nothing works. PLEASE HELP!

  3. #3
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    well sounds like your riddled with spyware. download adaware, spybot and cwshredder and update your virus scan and run full system scan. before running any of the spyware apps turn off all apps in the sys tray.



  4. #4
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    also egghead wrote a tutorial for arradicating these pests here http://www.techzonez.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9739 follow it to the T it has helped out quite a few members here.



  5. #5
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732



  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    6
    I downloaded CWShredder. What do I do now? Should I run it? Please reply back. I'm really lost!
    Last edited by SnifferLizard; August 11th, 2004 at 00:39 AM.

  7. #7
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    just click the exe and click on fix.



  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    6
    now what?

  9. #9
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    when its finished on the right side should say that it found or didnt find anything then run adaware and spybot.



  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    6
    it didn't find anything.. now I just run Adware and Spybot? If anything comes up wrong should I fix it?

  11. #11
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    yes.

    if it finds anything you must remember that it is all spyware and used to track YOU.

    You should also stop using internet explorer and use firefox ornetscape.

    just using internet explorer and surfing the net can get you the dose without any input from you......
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  12. #12
    Member Detekt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    67
    i once had spyware, changed my homepage to an advertising/searching site.
    but it still came up, even when changing the homepage, so i tried all spyware programs, and none found anything.

    after, i used my Norton systemworks win doctor, fixed the problem,
    except that it kinda screwed ie up after that, i couldnt download anything,
    so in the end, i just reinstalled windows..

    you should use Opera web browser, its much better than others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •