Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: SP2, not seen in automatic updates

  1. #1
    Bronze Member Rex Mundi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    121

    SP2, not seen in automatic updates

    I dont get it. Is SP2 released to the public or what? It's nowhere to be seen on the automatic updates page from microsoft. Its just that i see a link in this thread where to download it. Also there seems to be something going on about IBM co-orporation holding back SP2, they "warned internal users to not install Windows XP SP2 until IBM can fix some known issues" see here. So it needs to be patched? And what is it with microsoft and "Windows Movie Maker 2.1 is installed on your computer when you install Windows XP Service Pack 2"??? I dont want that junk!
    Is anyone having problems with SP2? Because i read from several sources that it's not very reliable (see here). Anyways, does anyone have any thoughts on sp2?
    Get Quintessential player, the alternative to winamp! ( www.quinnware.com )

  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    SP2 is working perfect on my system. My SATA drive is now listed at UDMA 6 although it still loses out to my PATA Maxtor drive. The link posted in the forum is still Release To Manufacturers version.

  3. #3
    Member Detekt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    67
    why its not seen in automatic updates?
    because microsoft says its a (on sp2 download page):

    Network Installation Package for IT Professionals and Developers


    this is also on sp2 download page

    DO NOT CLICK DOWNLOAD IF YOU ARE UPDATING JUST ONE COMPUTER: A smaller, more appropriate download will be available soon on Windows Update. To receive this download, turn on the Automatic Updates feature in Windows XP to receive an optimized download of SP2.


    i guess thats ur answer m8
    Last edited by Detekt; August 11th, 2004 at 11:10 AM.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member Rex Mundi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    121
    aah i should have seen that. No sweat, i'll wait ha ha
    Get Quintessential player, the alternative to winamp! ( www.quinnware.com )

  5. #5
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    the one rev posted is the final release. Its just bundled with the complete service pack in one .exe.



  6. #6

  7. #7
    Bronze Member Rex Mundi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    121
    Surely there must be some reason why windows (ie Gates) is holding back the update for home users...

    btw does it check for a valid windows serial key like SP1 did?
    Get Quintessential player, the alternative to winamp! ( www.quinnware.com )

  8. #8
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by Rex Mundi
    Surely there must be some reason why windows (ie Gates) is holding back the update for home users...

    btw does it check for a valid windows serial key like SP1 did?
    If you have an invalid key it'll still install but the Windows Update site won't work.

  9. #9
    Silver Member joshsiao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    357
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    the one rev posted is the final release. Its just bundled with the complete service pack in one .exe.
    Oh ok so its the final release for administors. But my local newpaper says that the final release is 265MB big, this is only 244MB if I am not wrong. What's the difference?
    "Never seem more learnt then the people you are with. Wear your learning like a watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked."
    ~Chesterfield

  10. #10
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Quote Originally Posted by joshsiao
    Oh ok so its the final release for administors. But my local newpaper says that the final release is 265MB big, this is only 244MB if I am not wrong. What's the difference?
    I don't know where you get the figure of 244 MB ??

    The English version is 266 MB,and the German version is 265 MB.

    http://www.techzonez.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11145

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  11. #11
    Silver Member joshsiao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    357
    Oh I see.
    "Never seem more learnt then the people you are with. Wear your learning like a watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked."
    ~Chesterfield

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •