Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: No windows update

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    No windows update

    Windows Update has encountered an error and cannot display the requested page. You may find the following resources helpful in resolving the problem:

    This error is not even listed in update troubleshooter: [Error number: 0x8024402C]

  2. #2
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    I had that problem when I had installed XP SP2 RC2
    I hope it is not the same problem

  3. #3
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    See I told it was better to slipstream and then do a reformat install.

  4. #4
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    grrrr. I have an image. I don't ever (if I can help it) want to reinstall all the apps I have. However, the image is still that of SP1.

  5. #5
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    You can try restoring an SP1 image then repply the SP2 but make sure you kill all programs running in the background, especialy AV and hope that Windows Update works this time. My images are of SP2 installs now.

  6. #6
    Succeded in braking Windo TZ Veteran Dehcbad25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    DE - USA
    Posts
    2,406
    did you try a rollback?
    when I tried it I lost TCP/IP, but I did install lots of programs after SP2. You might try that before the image, then re-install SP2

  7. #7
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Problem solved. I had to create a rule for svchost (TCP, HTTP, windows update, allow) I have DNS client disabled in services forcing each app to DNS. Svchost was only allowed UDP - BootPS and BootPC, everything else was blocked.
    Last edited by lynchknot; August 12th, 2004 at 15:48 PM.

  8. #8
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    I had the same problem with Sygate.
    The workaround for Sygate,(as posted by a user on the Sygate forums), is to "allow" Generic Host Process for Win32 (svchost.exe),but also make sure you uncheck the "Act as server" option.

    Right click the Sygate icon in the sys tray and select Applications.Look for Generic Host Process for Win32 and select "Allow".Then click the Advanced button and uncheck "Act as Server". Click OK,OK.

    You should now be able to access Windows Update.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •