Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Programs that may behave differently in Windows XP Service Pack 2

  1. #1
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688

    Programs that may behave differently in Windows XP Service Pack 2


  2. #2
    Nobody knows I'm a dog. TZ Veteran petard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Newspapastan
    Posts
    1,058
    Nero!
    Quicken!
    Kazaa!
    ZoneAlarm!
    Virtual Stripper!!!!

    Many thanks to egghead for the cool .sig

  3. #3
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    And check out all the MS Office products...I'm sure there will be patches but you'd think their OS would at least be compatible with their other products.

  4. #4
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Nero has worked perfect for me but it's on the list.

  5. #5
    Silver Member joshsiao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    357
    Ahhhh.... the entire office system! It seems that Office 97 is not affected.
    Ahhhh.... C&C Generals and its expansion, Red Alert and its expansion. And all my favouite games like SimCity, Raven Shield!!!!

    Luckily, MSN Messenger is not there. I didn't expect to see Microsoft's own programs in this list! They'll probaly add Windows XP to it soon!
    "Never seem more learnt then the people you are with. Wear your learning like a watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked."
    ~Chesterfield

  6. #6
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Yeah I have a system here that I've been testing with our latest OEM version of SP2. My son installed Red Alert 2 on it and tried to install Yuri's Revenge. A box popped up during the YR install telling of a known incompatibility and referred us to the vendors website for a patch. Well the freakin patch didn't work either...but again, this is on a late version OEM beta.

  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    974
    Style XP's on the list too, but didn't TGT Soft just release an update to fix the issues?

  8. #8
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    So far everything seems to be running smooth for me. In fact...I'd almost go as far to say as everything is working better...

    Hope it lasts

  9. #9
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by SupaStar
    So far everything seems to be running smooth for me. In fact...I'd almost go as far to say as everything is working better...

    Hope it lasts
    Same thing with me.

  10. #10
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,114
    Well I haven't tested it yet,but I will on my test computer with the recovery partition on it.SP 2 has too many controversies right now but I'm sure they will be worked out.Many average computer users do not look for patches when something goes wrong with their program so I predict a lot of angry windows users with sp1 when they update.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  11. #11
    Member Detekt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    67
    lucky i dont use any of those on list,
    will be tryin xp sp2 soon

  12. #12
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    SOMETIMES my pc will not recover to logon screen from screensaver - will just show a white screen - I have to reboot then. It is working so far today, however.
    Last edited by lynchknot; August 16th, 2004 at 16:30 PM.

  13. #13
    Junior Member Laylah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    28
    Thanks for the list Rik. For me, SP2 had a lot of complications and no visible improvement. I've been wondering if it was worth the trouble. Maybe it's just me...

  14. #14
    Bronze Member fatalfury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    104

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by petard
    Nero!
    Quicken!
    Kazaa!
    ZoneAlarm!
    Virtual Stripper!!!!
    virtual stripper... bahahaha XD

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •