Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Symantec 2005 is here!

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941

    Symantec 2005 is here!

    Symantec introduces its new 2005 Internet Security product line, New solutions offer the most comprehensive defense against hackers, viruses and thieves:

    Symantec's Norton AntiVirus™ 2005
    http://www.symantec.com/nav/nav_9xnt/

    Symantec's Norton Internet Security 2005
    http://www.symantec.com/sabu/nis/nis_pe/

    Symantec's Norton Personal Firewall 2005
    http://www.symantec.com/sabu/nis/npf/

    Symantec's Norton AntiSpam 2005
    http://www.symantec.com/antispam/

    Source: Symantec.com

  2. #2
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Cool. I wasn't that impressed with 2004 though...ran really slowly on my system.

  3. #3
    Member Detekt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    67
    good to know...

    it runs slow because it uses more cpu and ram than other antivirus and firewall products.

    i have nav2004pro and it runs reasonably well on my p4 2.4ghz +256mb ram.
    one of my friends has p4 3.2ghz EE + 1gb ram and nav2004pro runs much faster

    so how fast it will run depends on ur specs

  4. #4
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    I blacklisted Norton when I had 2004 installed and Stripe let me know I gave him 3 viruses. and yes it was a CPU hog. so now I use Mcafee Corp that I got from work and it has caught everything that I know of.



  5. #5
    Bronze Member Tanglefoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    178
    I had similar, even with high spec sys it's a cpu hog. Use Sophos now.

  6. #6
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    I blacklisted Norton when I had 2004 installed and Stripe let me know I gave him 3 viruses. and yes it was a CPU hog. so now I use Mcafee Corp that I got from work and it has caught everything that I know of.
    Mcafee corp works well. I'm using ZoneAlarm 5.1 at the moment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •