Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: I Dont Want To Be On The Internet

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5

    I Dont Want To Be On The Internet

    I Have No Internet Connection.
    I Deleted Internet Explorer. (as Far As I Know)
    But My Computer Keeps Trying To Get On-line!
    Please Help Me!
    I Dont Want To Be On The Internet.

  2. #2
    Nobody knows I'm a dog. TZ Veteran petard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Newspapastan
    Posts
    1,058
    You do have an internet connection or you wouldn't have been able to post your request for help.

    Tried and True solution: Disconnect your network cable or phone line.

    Take a look at these two links:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...;EN-US;q263276

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?kbid=181599

    Many thanks to egghead for the cool .sig

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5
    I Am At Work Right Now, But Thank You.
    I Am Refering To My Home Computer.
    Anyone Else.

  4. #4
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    in internet options under connections check never dial a connection. DONE!



  5. #5
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    Quote Originally Posted by emorrow
    Anyone Else.
    Disconnecting the cable should solve the problem. There is a chance that you have a item in the startup folder that is attempting to connect everytime you start windows.

    Others may not like the direct way I go about this, so you may get other suggestions. If disconnecting the modem cable doesn't work, click Start>All Programs>Startup and look for problem program. It should be obvious as to which program is the problem. Right Click on the the item that you want to remove and click Delete.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  6. #6
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    or physically take out the NIC and/or modem and you can be certain it will never connect.

    if you're on a lan at home you can also block that ip address from accessing the web thru the router.
    Last edited by phishhead; August 19th, 2004 at 19:59 PM.



  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    974
    I just thought you guys might be overlooking something.
    Is it 1) really connecting to the internet (dialing and getting online) or is it 2) just the message asking to connect?

    For 1: Perhaps a dialer keeps on connecting to the internet. If you think this is the case, use Spybot and/or Ad-aware SE. Or...
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    physically take out the NIC and/or modem and you can be certain it will never connect.
    For 2:
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    in internet options under connections check never dial a connection.
    Last edited by hotmale; August 19th, 2004 at 20:36 PM.

  8. #8
    Silver Member joshsiao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    357
    Or you could take a sledgehammer and bash up the modem , or just don't pay your internet bills and the ISP will cut the connection!
    "Never seem more learnt then the people you are with. Wear your learning like a watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked."
    ~Chesterfield

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    5
    I Am Not Sure That I Am Being Understood. My Computer (at Home) Is Connected In No Way To The Internet. No Cable Goes Int My Computer. I Just Get Screens That Pop Up Saying Connection Has Failed. Also I Have It Set To Never Dial A Connection

  10. #10
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    When you get the connection popup press Ctrl Alt Del and in the task manager check out the running processes.It may show which program is trying to connect,especially if one of them appears to be using a lot of CPU or Mem usage.

    One other thing,disable Automatic Updates if you haven't already done so.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  11. #11
    Bronze Member Coffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    190
    It could depend on simply something you've installed so as Rev says check out task manager, it could simply be checking something for online updates.
    Live long and prosper!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •