Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Laptop freezes after SP2 install

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2

    Laptop freezes after SP2 install

    Hi!

    I have the problem that my laptop does not boot up after updating to SP2. It just freezes on the progress bar. I have tried the WIndowsUpdate feature to install the new SP2 but the same thing happens. I also tried safe mode, same thing, it just takes more time to freeze.

    Does anyone have ideas why this is occuring. It is a WindowsXP Pro with SP1a included. It was not bundled with my laptop, it's a retail version.

    Thanks,
    Sintax

  2. #2
    Silver Member joshsiao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    357
    Did you make any changes to the boot screen theme before?
    "Never seem more learnt then the people you are with. Wear your learning like a watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked."
    ~Chesterfield

  3. #3
    Bronze Member Rex Mundi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    121
    It happened to me too a few days ago, exactly the same thing. I had no idea what came over me cuz i really hate this heck of crap. There was no way i could get access to windows and had to reinstall windows and practically wasted a whole day reinstalling and updating stuff, except sp2 ofcourse.

    i did not have a theme with the boot screen. I did have a linux boot screen. I cant believe this was the cause
    Last edited by Rex Mundi; August 27th, 2004 at 10:01 AM.
    Get Quintessential player, the alternative to winamp! ( www.quinnware.com )

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2
    I didn't have a Theme either. It is weird since it works perfectly on my other laptop which is a Toshiba.
    The one I want to install it on is a Clevo D740V with a 3Ghz Prescott. Does SP2 support hyperthreading? I just cannot find out what is wrong. I cannot reinstall my XP since I have too much stuff on it, like my development tools and everything. Is there a way to find out what could be wrong?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    16

    Microsoft has a solution maybe

    There are 2 articles regarding the prescott chip on microsoft. One about how to recover if you didn't install the patch. The other about where to go to get the patch for this chip.
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;885626
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;885627
    I have tried the method 1 without success. But you can also try uninstalling service pack 2 from the recovery console when you boot from cd.
    They have an article for this as well.
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;875355

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •