Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: error when right clicking application

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1

    error when right clicking application

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    im getting this error everytime i try to right click any application


    App error
    1000
    Faulting application explorer.exe, version 6.0.2900.2180, faulting module
    ntdll.dll, version 5.1.2600.2180, fault address 0x00010f29.

    plus (just after it):

    App error
    cat (100)
    1000
    Faulting application drwtsn32.exe, version 5.1.2600.0, faulting module
    dbghelp.dll, version 5.1.2600.2180, fault address 0x0001295d.

    Usually I just get:

    App error
    cat (100)
    1000
    Faulting application drwtsn32.exe, version 5.1.2600.0, faulting module
    dbghelp.dll, version 5.1.2600.2180, fault address 0x0001295d.

    explorer hangs after these errors and I have to ctl-alt-del, shot down
    iexplorer -- explorer then restarts.


    i have xp pro with sp2

    EDIT: Thread title renamed to clarify topic.
    Last edited by Reverend; August 26th, 2005 at 20:14 PM.

  2. #2
    Bronze Member Rex Mundi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    121
    Looks like you're in for a re-installation of windows. Those are some grave/serious errors, mate. It'll take more time getting rid of em than just re-installing windows. Maybe its a virus that corrupted your basic windows files, like ntdll.dll, explorer.exe,...? Or maybe its just SP2, ive had some bad experience with SP2 myself. You can try uninstalling SP2 as well, nothing to lose really.
    Get Quintessential player, the alternative to winamp! ( www.quinnware.com )

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    THis is an old thread but I have a PC that is doing the exact same things... It's generating shitloads of Faulting Module errors, and reboots at random. I tried running spybot, but everytime I run it, it says "Spybot has changed... blah blah blah.."

    Adaware won't even run. Grisoft AVG downloads, but then the .exe doesn't run.

    And this is right after a fresh reinstall... I don't know wtf is going on.

    I am guessing it is a nasty virus or something, but I haven't gotten a chance to indentify it yet.

    I run most of my PC shipped up and shaped out. Antivirus software updated daily, firewalls, spyware tools used...

    But my wife gets on the PCs and I cannot be sure what she does... intentionally or unintentionally.

    I guess I'll check egg's spyware thread for the latest.


    I am going to get memtest a run in a minute.... I wonder if it might be a bad stick of memory.. or if the memory just needs to be reseated...
    Last edited by Big Booger; August 26th, 2005 at 16:21 PM.

  4. #4
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Sounds like you need a good PE disk

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Quote Originally Posted by rik
    Sounds like you need a good PE disk
    I have one.

    Actually I ran Memtest86, no errors. BUt I installed NOD32, and it found a crap load of trojans. I had been using AVG, I don't get how there could be any trojans on the system. I hadn't even used the internet... I ran adaware, SKybot, and they cleaned up a few things.. but nothing major.. I see letting my wife have free rein on the internet is a bit dangerous.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •