Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: BIOS problemo

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    274

    BIOS problemo

    My sisters computer keeps crashing. I think its caused by this error message

    AMLI: ACPI BIOS is attempting to read from an illegal IO port address (Oxcfc), which lies in the Oxcf8-Oxcff protected address range. This could lead to system instability.

    I flashed her bios to the latest yet im still getting the error and it keeps crashing.The mobo shes using is a fic az11

  2. #2
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    a quick search through google resulted in many users of your motherboard with acpi problems and freezes


    you will need to wait for fic to release an updated bios that fixes the problem with the motherboard or buy one from a competitor.

    you can disable acpi in the bios power management settings but you will need to repair install xp to run xp again
    you may not notice a difference in performance and this should eliminate these errors or freezes.
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  3. #3
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    The fic az11 is a vintage motherboard. I used one for about three years. Never had any problems before dropping a hard drive into the middle of it. Ruined the warranty that day.

    I would try to clear the CMOS. Refer to manual to locate the jumper. If you don't have the manual download it here. Manual
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  4. #4
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    I think these guys got your back on this one biker...egg you wont need to do a repair. I had similar issues with acpi and I just disabled rebooted and all is well.



  5. #5
    Silver Member joshsiao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    357
    Quote Originally Posted by efc
    The fic az11 is a vintage motherboard. I used one for about three years. Never had any problems before dropping a hard drive into the middle of it. Ruined the warranty that day.

    I would try to clear the CMOS. Refer to manual to locate the jumper. If you don't have the manual download it here. Manual
    Lol, I hope the hard drive survived at least.
    "Never seem more learnt then the people you are with. Wear your learning like a watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked."
    ~Chesterfield

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    274
    i disabled acpi but it freezes on startup

  7. #7
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    you will need to do a repair install of windows using the windows xp cd

    do you know if sp2 is installed?

    this website will give you info on how to repair windowsxp
    http://www.webtree.ca/windowsxp/repair_xp.htm
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  8. #8
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    huh egg must be right then I gues on my asus I've never had to bother doing a repair.



  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    274
    alright thx guys ima have to go do a repair install then

  10. #10
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    huh egg must be right then I gues on my asus I've never had to bother doing a repair.
    not sure why but xp is picky on certain boards....

    ------------------------------------------------------------



  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    16
    The easy way guys..for future reference..is to go device manager. Open computer..you will see either ACPI multiprocessor PC or ACPI PC. Right click on it..update driver. Select Install from list... Select Don't search I will choose...Select standard pc. This will load the HAL for a no APCI computer. Then shutdown go to your bios and disable APCI.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    16
    My bad meant ACPI

  13. #13
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    nice work!

    cheers!
    ------------------------------------------------------------



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •