Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Finally got DSL

  1. #1
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329

    Finally got DSL

    I closed my satellite internet account today. DSL is up and running. The DSL provides faster browsing but is quite a bit slower than satellite when it comes to downloading files. That is offset by the absence of the "fair use clause" on satellite that reduces bandwidth when you reach 150MB. I can now download Linux.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by efc
    I can now download Linux.
    And loads more!

  3. #3
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Quote Originally Posted by efc
    on satellite that reduces bandwidth when you reach 150MB. I can now download Linux.
    Welcome to the big leagues!!!!


    I use 150mb daily just checking my email and deleting the tons spam claiming of penis enlargment secrets.

    Actually, I use 150mb in about 2 hours of surfing the web and listening to streaming movies or radio etc.....
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  4. #4
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Congrats on the upgrade. How far are you from the DSLAM? That usually determines your speed.

  5. #5
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    How far are you from the DSLAM?
    One quarter mile. Good speed. A lineman I talked to a couple weeks ago stated that the switch is the first in this area designed for streaming video.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    That is really close. What are your recommended speeds for the service that you purchased?

    Sounds like latency shouldn't be an issue either. Nor should the 150MB cap.. I am sure you're pleased about that.

  7. #7
    Near Life Experienced TZ Veteran zipp51's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,114
    I hear ya efc.Isn't it nice to get rid of the albatros around your neck.I couldn't download large file over 176mb without slowing my bandwidth to 26kps.Have fun with your new toy.
    The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.

  8. #8
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    BB - Recommended speeds, don't know. Just ran a speed test and got 1239/212. Pinged Google and got 37ms. It would have been over 850ms with direcway.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  9. #9
    Triple Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    883
    man...and im still uing dial up..which in india means: 5kbps download speed

  10. #10
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    974
    efc, I'm green. Pray for me so that can I get DSL soon.
    Quote Originally Posted by rohitkumar
    man...and im still uing dial up..which in india means: 5kbps download speed
    and I used to think my 32kbps was pathetic...

  11. #11
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    OK, I have the new toy and can't make it work. I downloaded SUSE 9.1 yesterday. It is an ISO. Instructions state that it should be burned to media using a program capable of burning in iso9669. I have made several coasters. My version of Nero burns to iso9660. Help please.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  12. #12
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by efc
    OK, I have the new toy and can't make it work. I downloaded SUSE 9.1 yesterday. It is an ISO. Instructions state that it should be burned to media using a program capable of burning in iso9669. I have made several coasters. My version of Nero burns to iso9660. Help please.
    You should have a CDRW disc to experiment before burning to a CD-R.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Get the latest version of Nero:
    http://www.nero.com/us/nero-up.php

    Verify that your ISO is of the correct file size. Then open Nero. Start, all programs, nero, nero ultra edition, nero burning rom.

    The "new compilation" wizard should popup. Click CANCEL. CLick RECORDER AT THE TOP. Then click burn image. Then locate the SUSE 9.1 ISO and burn away.

    That should work. Is that how you have tried to burn the iso before?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •