Thread: Sata Problems

Silver Member

Sata Problems

hi im new to sata and im having problems installing windows on it....i have a wd1200jd 120gig i have no drivers for it which i know i need but i dont know where to get them from and i know that u have to hit f6 to instal windows on the hard drive what else do i need to know
    i have a gigabyte ga-7vt600 1394 mobo
    1 gig of ram
    2800+ athlon xp
    currenty i have a maxtor 120 gig with windows on it and a western didgital 120 gig and i use that for storage i want to use both of them for storage and put windows on my sata

so all i want to know is how to instal my sata hard drive any information will be very helpful thanks for ur time

Silver Member
    o ya i also want ur opinions for the best configuration for speed...if u want to go into any detail that would be nice as in drivers and useful stuff like that i also have a radeon 9600 np (any ideas ont he best drivers for performance since i cant overclock it)

Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    You only need to hit F6 during Windows installation if you're going to install RAID drivers. A single SATA drive doesn't need drivers, it's just a matter of enabling it in the BIOS settings.
    Last edited by Conan; October 20th, 2004 at 01:56 AM.

Silver Member
    u mean enabling the onboard sata controller....if so i have it enabled and my system recognizes the hd but i cant do anything with it i cant format it put anything on it or anything

Quote Originally Posted by Nate89
    u mean enabling the onboard sata controller....if so i have it enabled and my system recognizes the hd but i cant do anything with it i cant format it put anything on it or anything
    Check your motherboard manual/CD, but for my system, I just booted from the Windows XP CD and formatted my SATA drive and installed Windows. There is also a BIOS setting for enhanced mode for hard drives, choose enchanced for SATA if you have that option.

Silver Member