Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: what's a good trojan scanner?

  1. #1
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546

    what's a good trojan scanner?

    I scanned my computer with trend online and it found nothing but Panda online says I am infected with a trojan.

    It disinfects me but when i scan again i get the same message. the location simply says "operating system" WTF?

    I cannot find it using the above info..........

    I can't find the soap. lol!!!

    this is the trojan
    http://www.pandasoftware.com/virus_i...eteccion=39767
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  2. #2
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    well I found all these and deleted them...

    # Delete the entries that Vicer.A has created in the Windows Registry:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ Software\ Microsoft\ Windows\ CurrentVersion\ Policies\ Explorer\ Run
    DirectX For Microsoft® Windows = C:\WINDOWS\system32\fservice.exe

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ Software\ Microsoft\ Windows NT\ CurrentVersion\ Winlogon
    Shell = Explorer.exe C:\WINDOWS\system32\fservice.exe

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\ Software\ Microsoft\ Active Setup\ Installed Components\ {5Y99AE78-58TT-11dW-BE53-Y67078979Y}
    StubPath = C:\WINDOWS\system\sservice.exe
    #
    Restart the computer.

    so I must have something on my computer...

    but where?
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  3. #3
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    update:

    I rebooted my computer and all reg settings are back!!!


    I have discovered that I do not have the option to hide/show hidden files.

    It is completly removed from folder options.....

    HELP!!!
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  4. #4
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    update:

    I rebooted my computer and all reg settings are back!!!


    I have discovered that I do not have the option to hide/show hidden files.

    It is completly removed from folder options.....

    HELP!!!

    now Panda scan is unavailable............... :sigh:
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  5. #5
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Last edited by lynchknot; October 23rd, 2004 at 16:30 PM.

  6. #6
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    thanks lynch!

    just installing it..

    theweird thing is that my windows dorectory attributes are set to hidden...

    hmm
    very weird

    and my prefetch directory is "access deniad" when changing windows back to un-hide
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  7. #7
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Sounds like time to roll back to an older image...

  8. #8
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    no system restore....

    i disabled it cause thats where viruses like to pregnate

    when i delete the keys in registry they come back immediatly
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  9. #9
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    booted into safemode and deleted keys in regedit but even in safe mode they are put back as soon as i change a registry directory....wtf?

    this has me stumped

    agnitum won't come-up

    is it working?
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  10. #10
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    try this if you want. I use it: https://www.prevx.com/

    download (must sign up though) - https://www.prevx.com/homeoffice/hom...medownload.htm


    • Stop ‘Buffer Overflow’ attacks used by Internet worms (such as Sasser) and hackers
    • Stop the installation of malicious files
    • Stop malicious modification of critical files and directories
    • Stop frequently used attacks on Internet Explorer
    • Stop unauthorized changes to critical areas of the registry
    • Stop covert modification of start-up scripts
    Long thread at Wilders security: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showt...ighlight=prevx

    I have been running Prevx for 8 hours now with no problem whatsoever.I also tried some firewall leak tests,and in PC Audit PrevX kicked in detecting dll injection and stopped it.
    Hi you all, I find Prevx doing a great job. it is not Processguard but it is a real supplement on processguard. Personnally it is doing a good job on my system. when something is altered I have processguard and if something is installing something with spawning processes it is Prevx warning me

    for me I would purchase it immediately only for this feature...
    Last edited by lynchknot; October 23rd, 2004 at 17:16 PM.

  11. #11
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    i bit the bullet and did a fresh install of xp

    problem solved

    i now enabled my xp firewall as well as pluged my router in.

    A friend showed me how easy it is to get into a computer by port scanning the ip and my computer was open due to my experimenting.......

    gonna install outpost and get back to my nest

    cheers
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  12. #12
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Quote Originally Posted by egghead

    gonna install outpost and get back to my nest

    cheers
    good choice - if you don't have this already, here is a guide for a more secure Outpost: http://www.outpostfirewall.com/forum...&threadid=9858

  13. #13
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Actually I was meaning an image such as an Acronis or Ghost image...

  14. #14
    Junior Member Content's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    27
    If you install XP all over again what can you do with the files that you
    want to take care of? Or is that evan a bad idea since something hidden
    could be on files that you wanna save. Or does installing XP all over again
    just do what Kazza might in regards to installing over an installation?

  15. #15
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    if you select "delete the current windows installation" and not format you will still have all the files you downloaded. but windows will appear to be new.

    all icons and setting like fresh install....

    make sure you do not have file encryption enabled or you may not have access to those files.
    ------------------------------------------------------------



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •