Thread: Mp3 Player CHAOS!! Need suggestions!

Exclamation Mp3 Player CHAOS!! Need suggestions!

Sorry guys, I'm not really yelling. :P
    Anyway, I am about to buy an MP3 Player this Christmas and I really don't know which is best (considering the fact that I've never used or owned one before).
    Anyway, I have two favorites.
    Should I buy an Apple 4th generation 40GB iPod or an Archos AV400 series PVP?
    If Archos is so much better in features and battery life, why is it not rated as high? That's the only reason that's holding me back from getting an iPod already.
    Anyhoo, if you say iPod, should I get an 4th gen or a iPod PHOTO?
    And if you say Archos, should I get a AV400 or should I wait for the AV500 to come out?
    Any suggestions would be nice. thx

Triple Platinum Member
    read hotmale's thread on a similar topic here: http://www.techzonez.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12084

No, it is not the same thing. They are debating between an iPod and a Rio Karma. And there is only one reply on the AV400 and it doesn't answer my question.

Triple Platinum Member
    ok... well my take is that ipod is more popular cuz of it brand name maybe...its safer to by the standard stuff...and maybe that's why ppl rate it higher...but ppl also rated ie6 higher not a long while back...

i wud personally go for the ipod (just as i would go for xp over linux and intel over amd for reasons mentioned above, though i guess i never would have found firefox if i didnt experiment..)

I have a 4th gen ipod and im pretty happy wid it's performance..it looks good and the click wheel is awesome, though some ppl dont find it very comfy to use...

in addition, there might be some features in the archos player which u might find more useful than the ones on the ipod...so i guess it finally comes down to you to decide on which one u want..

edit: i said "similar" thread fullswing...

Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar