Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Proxify Firefox

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941

    Proxify Firefox

    Step 1: Firefox
    Step 2: switchproxy
    Step 3: proxylist

    Problem solved!!!!

    Now go back to wasting your lives away at the Showtime site.

    Image in action below: (Showtime is for the US only, now with this, it can be for anyone!)
    http://xs2.xs.to/pics/04115/showtime.JPG

    amazing.

    Taken from a post over at FTI.

  2. #2
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    what do you do there? * edfit - not compatible with RC2 - I'll go in and fix it.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    What do I do where?

  4. #4
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Showtime site - what is so interesting?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Well if you are into the shows on showtime, you can look up the episode guides, find out about next season, just get into the programming that you enjoy.

    It's a way to keep track of where a series is headed.

  6. #6
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    oh yeah, you have cable TV. Do you watch shows from US often over there?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    I actually have satellite TV. And yes I do. We get 5 different movie channels, Fox, Discovery Channel, History Channel, MTV, CNN, BBC, Cinefil (foreign and independent films), AXN (Japan's SCIFI Channel), etc...

  8. #8
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    haha! this is cool! Thanks Bb. how often do you have it set to change proxy?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    If you added that list of proxies it should automatically do it for you. I haven't used this that much to know, but it sure beats the hell out of going into the tools, options and so on to add a new proxy.

    Very helpful.

  10. #10
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    You can set it to change per seconds. I wish there were an easy way to edit this as some proxies are blacklisted

  11. #11
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    A question I would have is how do we know we can trust a proxy server? If all of your packets are passing through a single server or server farm, a bad guy or organization would have an easier task if they wanted to sniff out personal info, credit card info, etc. I used a proxy for several years with satellite internet. That was different in that the proxy was part of the ISP service.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  12. #12
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Does using the proxies slow down your internet speed?

  13. #13
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    It greatly increased the speed for satellite internet. I don't know how it impacts speed for DSL or cable. However, it should take more than five minutes to set it up and test it.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  14. #14
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    slows it down greatly for me. I'm using a proxy blacklist from blocklist manager and most of these are blacklisted - Steganos (origin of list) itself is blacklisted

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Several of the proxies work ok for me. It slows it down. Of course it will. It's a proxy. but it just depends on teh speed of the proxy. Think of it as adding an extra hop on the trail to the site you are going to.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •