Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: Speed Tweaks For Firefox

  1. #1
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343

    Speed Tweaks For Firefox 1.0 Final and Earlier.

    After experimenting with various builds of Firefox, I've figured out how to get it to run just as fast as IE! These settings may put additional load on web sites though.

    Type in the Address Bar; about:config

    Then scroll over to the following settings and adjust:

    network.http.max-connections :40
    network.http.max-connections-per-server :20
    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server :20
    network.http.pipelining :True
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests :32
    network.http.proxy.pipelining :True

    Close and relaunch browser and watch it fly!
    Last edited by Conan; November 9th, 2004 at 10:48 AM.

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Nice Barb. Working good for me.

    Better get some extra cooling for the TZ server.

    For anyone thats not sure how to adjust the settings. Follow Conan's instructions by scrolling over the relevant entry and then right click it and select Modify. Then type in the new value that Conan posted.

    To change a "false" value to "true" right click the entry and select Toggle
    Last edited by Reverend; November 9th, 2004 at 10:56 AM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by Reverend

    To change a "false" value to "true" right click the entry and select Toggle
    Or you can also double-click to change to "true" or to enter a new numerical value.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member carloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    166
    Pipelining can be enable in Mozilla Suite too.
    Just check the two options in:
    Edit->Preferences->Advanced->HTTP Networking

  5. #5
    Nobody knows I'm a dog. TZ Veteran petard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Newspapastan
    Posts
    1,058
    Thanks Conan! I'm smoking now!!!

    Many thanks to egghead for the cool .sig

  6. #6
    Triple Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    883
    thanks conan....always thought that firefox was just a bit slower than ie...didnt know that it was universal until today...

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Works quite a bit faster! thanks.

  8. #8
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    Great results.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  9. #9
    Junior Member anykey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    South West London
    Posts
    14
    ...not too sure what I've gawn an' bin and dun. But I've followed your instructions Conan.
    British Beer is so important, we can't let things that
    are more important interfere with it.

  10. #10
    Bronze Member Zak8022's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Baltimore. MD
    Posts
    134
    sweetness... i'm not sure i really notice a difference... but i did it anyways. thanks conan

  11. #11
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    This is what works for me (may not for you) Cable~3000/256
    These settings will put additional load on web sites
    user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 128);
    user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 48);
    user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy", 24);
    user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server", 12); - or 20 like conan

    // Enable pipelining:
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
    user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 100);
    user_pref("network.http.pipelining.firstrequest", true);


    // (default is 250):
    user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);

    // turn on timer-based reflow management
    user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);


    //If you have Ramdisk:

    // Path to Cache folder:
    user_pref("browser.cache.memory.disk_directory","L:\\Local Disk");
    Last edited by lynchknot; November 9th, 2004 at 19:16 PM.

  12. #12
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by Zak8022
    sweetness... i'm not sure i really notice a difference... but i did it anyways. thanks conan
    If you test it with sites with lots of thumbnail images, you will really see the speed difference.

  13. #13
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by Conan
    If you test it with sites with lots of thumbnail images, you will really see the speed difference.

    What sort of site has lots of thumbnail images










  14. #14
    Bronze Member Tanglefoot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    178
    Awesome. That speeded my browsing by a factor of 2 and took 1 minute to do. Would that everything in life were so easy

  15. #15
    Junior Member cyoung1616's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Texarkana, Texas USA
    Posts
    17
    This extention will do the same

    https://update.mozilla.org/extension...firefox&id=327

    Cody
    Last edited by cyoung1616; November 14th, 2004 at 16:54 PM.
    I'm never wrong, just misinformed !

    Cody

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •