Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28

Thread: Speed Tweaks For Firefox

  1. #16
    Bronze Member fatalfury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    102
    Quote Originally Posted by Conan
    After experimenting with various builds of Firefox, I've figured out how to get it to run just as fast as IE! These settings may put additional load on web sites though. [snip]
    sweet tips!! thanks a lot!

  2. #17
    Bronze Member carloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    153
    Here you can find similar settings:
    http://www.tweakfactor.com/articles/...oxtweak/4.html

  3. #18
    Bronze Member carloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    153

    Exclamation Internal tuning

    Quote Originally Posted by Conan
    After experimenting with various builds of Firefox, I've figured out how to get it to run just as fast as IE! These settings may put additional load on web sites though.

    Type in the Address Bar; about:config

    Then scroll over to the following settings and adjust:

    network.http.max-connections :40
    network.http.max-connections-per-server :20
    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server :20
    network.http.pipelining :True
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests :32
    network.http.proxy.pipelining :True

    Close and relaunch browser and watch it fly!
    The best tuning for Firefox depends on the global system speed and the network connection speed, so the only way to find it is by attempts.
    Anyway you must consider the correct range of each value you want to change. As example
    Code:
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests :32
    has no meaning because this variable accepts only values from 1 to NS_HTTP_MAX_PIPELINED_REQUESTS, which is set to 8 (see nsHttp.h file in Firefox source).

    Currently I'm using these settings:
    Code:
    network.http.max-connections : 48
    network.http.max-connections-per-server : 20
    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy : 8
    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server : 16
    network.http.pipelining : true
    network.http.pipelining.firstrequest : true
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests : 8
    network.http.proxy.pipelining : true
    nglayout.initialpaint.delay : 0
    plugin.expose_full_path : true	
    ui.submenuDelay : 0	
    browser.cache.memory.capacity : 65536 (means 64MB)
    browser.cache.disk_cache_ssl : true // ATTENTION!!!
    browser.xul.error_pages.enabled : true
    content.interrupt.parsing : true
    content.notify.backoffcount : 5
    content.notify.interval : 750000
    content.notify.ontimer : true
    content.switch.threshold : 750000
    content.maxtextrun : 8191
    content.max.tokenizing.time : 3000000
    signed.applets.codebase_principal_support : true
    I hope they work fine for the most of you!

  4. #19
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    560
    Here is a stopwatch page to check your loading times:

    www.numion.com/Stopwatch/index.html

    My longest was 2.7 seconds with conans values. I got 2.5 seconds with the

    default settings on firefow exrensions network tweaks. I got a slower time

    with the power settings. I got 2.2 seconds with the settings of carloc.

    Happy Holidays

    [edit]

    I have cable and a 2.1 Celeron processer.

    I tested it on www.techzonez.com. I do not know any thumbnail sites.
    Last edited by rik; January 11th, 2005 at 20:16 PM. Reason: Combining multiple posts.

  5. #20
    Bronze Member carloc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by veronica
    I got 2.2 seconds with the settings of carloc.
    It sounds good, Veronica!

  6. #21
    Platinum+ Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    640
    Quote Originally Posted by Conan
    After experimenting with various builds of Firefox, I've figured out how to get it to run just as fast as IE! These settings may put additional load on web sites though.

    Type in the Address Bar; about:config

    Then scroll over to the following settings and adjust:

    network.http.max-connections :40
    network.http.max-connections-per-server :20
    network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server :20
    network.http.pipelining :True
    network.http.pipelining.maxrequests :32
    network.http.proxy.pipelining :True

    Close and relaunch browser and watch it fly!
    AMAZING. Its really faster after I did wat u said. I have to ask - How do u know such kewl stuff???

    Quote Originally Posted by Conan
    These settings may put additional load on web sites though.
    Thanks fer da tip. I guess I'll be checking my hotmail thru www.hotmail.com more often now


    Righto @ rik. Will be more careful now. sorry for inconvenience
    Last edited by tarun; January 11th, 2005 at 20:51 PM.

  7. #22
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,453
    Please feel free to edit your posts and add information to them instead of making multiple posts.

    Thank You

  8. #23
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,040
    There's a new speed tweak extension out, it's called Fasterfox:

    Quick Description

    Performance and network tweaks for Firefox. Fasterfox allows you to tweak many network and rendering settings such as simultaneous connections, pipelining, cache, DNS cache, and initial paint delay. Dynamic speed increases can be obtained with the unique prefetching mechanism, which recycles idle bandwidth by silently loading and caching all of the links on the page you are browsing. A popup blocker for popups initiated by Flash plug-ins is also included.
    https://addons.mozilla.org/extension...fo.php?id=1269

  9. #24
    Platinum+ Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    640
    Thanks Conan, there is a noticeable difference in speed. Does it enable prefetching of pages by default though?

  10. #25
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,453
    Good find. I'm using it now.

  11. #26
    Platinum+ Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    640
    The new tweak is makes FF faster than the old one did, but with both I have trouble with 'site not found' errors. Does this happen to anyone else?

  12. #27
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,040
    Quote Originally Posted by tarun
    The new tweak is makes FF faster than the old one did, but with both I have trouble with 'site not found' errors. Does this happen to anyone else?
    Experiencing that too with the work PC. I uninstalled it let's see if things change.

  13. #28
    Bronze Member bionicblond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    155
    Wow this was an awesome thread, did not know it could move so fast. Once again Thanks to all! (but mostly Conan, since he did think about making it a thread ya know, and sharing the info with some of us less tech inclined...)
    Knowledge indeed is power;
    Wisdom is knowing whether or not to act on Knowledge.

    Speech is
    silver,but silence is golden.....
    Blondie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •