Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Windows XP not starting

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rochester NH
    Posts
    2

    Windows XP not starting

    When starting Windows XP on my laptop an error message comes up reading the following file is missing or corrupt:
    [Windows Root]\system32\hal.dll
    I don't have a boot disk, how do I fix this

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Hi Rodney.That particular file normally relates to your boot.ini file located in the root directory.It may be pointing to the wrong loader sequence.

    A couple of questions first.
    Did you do an upgrade to XP or a fresh install.Are you using a dual boot ? Do you have the Windows XP cd?

    If you do have the XP cd you can repair your installation.
    Step by step guide here
    Last edited by Reverend; July 9th, 2002 at 16:05 PM.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    Hal stands for hardware abstraction layer...kinda like the config.sys in win9x systems...it uses this to load all your devices...if you can boot from the xp cd and type sfc /scannow from the dos prompt or from run command should copy the file it needs.



  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rochester NH
    Posts
    2

    Windows XP not starting

    Windows XP came on my Toshiba laptop.
    I have Recovery and Configuration Builder CD from Toshiba that came with it. If I use those it will reformat my hard drive.
    What is a dual boot.

  5. #5
    Gold Member Blackwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    452
    well, since hal.dll is a vital file for your OS to run correctly, you need to get that back, either with the recovery disk or some other way..
    I would suggest the recovery disk, just put it in and let it do its business.. easiest way to fix your problem.

    Blackwar

  6. #6
    Junior Member kempouk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    18
    i just had the same error but it was the boot sequence , i forgot to change it from boot from cdrom

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •