View Poll Results: Did you encounter any major problems during or after installing SP2?

Voters
9. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, it totally screwed my computer

    1 11.11%
  • Just some minor glitches

    1 11.11%
  • Not a single problem

    7 77.78%
  • What's SP2?

    0 0%
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Did you have trouble installing SP2?

  1. #1
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    974

    Did you have trouble installing SP2?

    How did your upgrade to SP2 go? Good, bad or ugly ? Let us know.

  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    I always slipstream the service pack with the Operating System and then reformat. No problems here.

  3. #3
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    No problems here and I was installing SP2 from the early release canditates.

  4. #4
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    974
    I had no problems either. Actually, I started this poll to encourage people to install SP2. Many have become reluctant to install it because of some rare cases that have been posted. So I'm trying to change that in my own way

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    England UK
    Posts
    12
    No problems for me

  6. #6
    Bronze Member Rex Mundi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    121
    I chose the 1st option. SP2 totally screwed up windows because i have a certain p4 processor (prescott). Later on microsoft released a patch. I installed that and then tried installing SP2 again. I didnt have problems the second time round.
    Get Quintessential player, the alternative to winamp! ( www.quinnware.com )

  7. #7
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by hotmale
    I had no problems either. Actually, I started this poll to encourage people to install SP2. Many have become reluctant to install it because of some rare cases that have been posted. So I'm trying to change that in my own way
    Sounds good to me, but we'll have to wait until the number of votes increase.

  8. #8
    Triple Platinum Member hotmale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lebanon
    Posts
    974
    Quote Originally Posted by SupaStar
    Sounds good to me, but we'll have to wait until the number of votes increase.
    I agree.

  9. #9
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    no problems at all. XP seems faster for me and more secure.

    egghead
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  10. #10
    Triple Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    883
    0 problems here as well...pc works fine...

  11. #11
    Member ashish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    87
    well didnt have ne problems installnig it.. but the security centre just wont go away.. took me two days to turn it off...... really hated it...
    Cheers,
    Bringing The Humanity Back Into Computing

  12. #12
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    I have installed SP2 about 50 times and never had a problem. Sometimes it is slow to install but it never makes the PC faulty. In some rare cases it has been enough to fix faults - particularly internet connectivity problems as it replaces some exes and dlls that are often malware targets. Security is a little better due to the splitting of some security processes (as in Server 2003) but IE still has a million and one vulnerabilities.

  13. #13
    Gold Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Penna.
    Posts
    409
    No problem here either. Downloaded it, and all went smooth.

  14. #14
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by ashish
    well didnt have ne problems installnig it.. but the security centre just wont go away.. took me two days to turn it off...... really hated it...
    I'm sure there was a reason for this. What was the popup saying to you. Did you have antivirus software installed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •