View Poll Results: Which is a better processer if they are all the same power & size?

Voters
12. You may not vote on this poll
  • 2.8 Pentium 4

    7 58.33%
  • 2.8 celeron

    0 0%
  • AMD that is equivelent in power & size to a 2.8 celeron

    5 41.67%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Which Is better, a Pentium 4, Celeron, or AMD of the same power & size?

  1. #1
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621

    Which Is better, a Pentium 4, Celeron, or AMD of the same power & size?

    Consider that the Pentium 4 costs $100 more than the Celeron and AMD. Is it worth it?

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Depends on which AMD and what P4 ? it's definitely worth the extra over the Celeron, don't get the Celeron.

  3. #3
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Generally AMD is optimized for games and p4 is optimized for business.

    The low budget version of the AMD and Celeron are fast enough for the everyday web surfer. I am using a 366mhz celeron and webpages and video load the same as my old 3.2ghz p4.
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  4. #4
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by egghead
    Generally AMD is optimized for games and p4 is optimized for business.

    The low budget version of the AMD and Celeron are fast enough for the everyday web surfer. I am using a 366mhz celeron and webpages and video load the same as my old 3.2ghz p4.
    I have a 2.1 GHz Celeron and

    512MB Kingston memory in a Gateway PC. Everytime I change something, the

    settings on something else changes or it quits working. I am not using it for

    gaming or business.

    Thank you for the replies

  5. #5
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by egghead
    Generally AMD is optimized for games and p4 is optimized for business.
    Ok you made me mad, prove it (business part)

    Egghead has a good point about web surfing

    What do you do with a PC ?

    [edit]=
    Quote Originally Posted by veronica
    I am not using it for gaming or business.
    then I say save your money and just fix your PC.
    Last edited by FastGame; November 19th, 2004 at 16:36 PM.

  6. #6
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Depends on which AMD and what P4 ? it's definitely worth the extra over the Celeron, don't get the Celeron.
    Lets say a 2.8 GHz Pentium 4 and a 2800+ AMD processer.

  7. #7
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    What do you do with a PC ?
    I use peer 2 peer, unzip files. Write CD's, surf, email, download, and break my PC often.

    Thanks for the replies.

  8. #8
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by veronica
    Lets say a 2.8 GHz Pentium 4 and a 2800+ AMD processer.
    The 2.8 P4 is not worth a $100 more than the AMD 2800.

    Veronica I think most of your problems are software related with maybe (slight maybe) chance hard drive related.

    You don't think it would be better to fix your PC instead of buying a new one ?

  9. #9
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    then I say save your money and just fix your PC.
    It is just the software or OS that quits working. I thought my processer or memory were too small.

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    The 2.8 P4 is not worth a $100 more than the AMD 2800.

    Veronica I think most of your problems are software related with maybe (slight maybe) chance hard drive related.

    You don't think it would be better to fix your PC instead of buying a new one ?
    I am constantly fixing it. It starts messing up again just as soon as I reinstall and reformat.

    Thank you

  11. #11
    Bronze Member Rex Mundi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    121
    Im a pentium guy. Never tried AMD. I've had (here comes the list):

    -Pentium 66MHz
    -Pentium 166MHz
    -Pentium 166MHz (MMX)
    -Pentium2 350MHz (MMX)
    -Pentium3 500MHz (MMX,SSE)
    -Pentium3 550MHz (MMX,SSE)
    -Pentium4 1.8GHz (MMX,SSE,SSE2)
    -Pentium4 2.8GHz HT (MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3) (which i have now)

    Oh yeah and my dad has a Pentium4 2.67GHz processor.
    Get Quintessential player, the alternative to winamp! ( www.quinnware.com )

  12. #12
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    veronica if you send me your PC I'll fix it for free, won't even charge you for parts you just pay the shipping.

    I'd hate to see you spend $$$ on a new PC when you don't need it.

  13. #13
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    The 2.8 P4 is not worth a $100 more than the AMD 2800.

    Veronica I think most of your problems are software related with maybe (slight maybe) chance hard drive related.

    You don't think it would be better to fix your PC instead of buying a new one ?
    I meant is a 2.8 GHz Pentium 4 worth $100 more than a 2.8 GHz Celeron?
    Thanks

    I was just considering which PC I would buy after this one wore out, to avoid these problems in the future. Thank you for your generous offer though.
    Last edited by veronica; November 19th, 2004 at 18:07 PM. Reason: mis-spelled

  14. #14
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    can you post more info on your motherboard model?

    I knoiw many people have had nightmares with certain motherboards

    you might also need a patch for certain cpu's for windows to run properly
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  15. #15
    Platinum+ Member veronica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    621
    Quote Originally Posted by egghead
    can you post more info on your motherboard model?

    I knoiw many people have had nightmares with certain motherboards

    you might also need a patch for certain cpu's for windows to run properly
    Where do I find the motherboard model # ??
    I have a Gateway 300S PC.

    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •