Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: CR/DVD ROM i/o error.......errrrrrhhhh!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member cklotz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    12

    CR/DVD ROM i/o error.......errrrrrhhhh!!!

    I have read alot on the net about i/o errors and other errors with this Toshiba Satellite w/ a (panasonic) matshita aka matusuita uj-810 CD/DVD rw drive. Ive still not been able to resolve it for more than a day or so untill the error returns. Anyone else experience similar problems or have some advice?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    What is your specific error? And what have you done to try and resolve it?

  3. #3
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    What is your specific error? And what have you done to try and resolve it?
    Yep ?

    In the mean time defrag your HD, check the cables to the drive (use different cable). If using a ASPI ( Like Force ASPI) then un-install it, if your not using ASPI then try it Force ASPI

  4. #4
    Junior Member cklotz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    What is your specific error? And what have you done to try and resolve it?
    the error was "an i/o error has occured and the drive can not be accessed" to the best of my recollection

    I have since:

    removed all cd/dvd related software- windvd, sonic, arcsoft, nero, mdvd, alchohol 120 and reinstalled them in trying to find one that would read a disc
    eventually removing them again

    played with the restore points to try to go back to when it worked

    uninstalled and reinstalled SP2

    removed drivers manually from the system folder / downloader drivers / removed more driver / dloaded more drivers

    removed hardware, installed hardware, tried to reinstall the drive

    hmmm, a few other things im sure, ive spent prob 25hrs on this

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Yep ?

    In the mean time defrag your HD, check the cables to the drive (use different cable). If using a ASPI ( Like Force ASPI) then un-install it, if your not using ASPI then try it Force ASPI
    FG has given you two possible and excellent options to further sort this out. Try them then post back your results.

    What OS are you using? I noticed you said SP2, is this windows XP Home or Pro, or MCE 2004, 2005, longhorn, etc?

  6. #6
    Junior Member cklotz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    What is your specific error? And what have you done to try and resolve it?
    Well i just tried to add hardware again and got this one:

    Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)

    This is the folder that i manually deleted drivers from
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers

    I deleted some of the ones that were listed under the driver file details

    here's whats left
    cdrom.sys
    imapi.sys
    redbook.sys
    storprop.dll which is in the system32 folder directly

  7. #7
    Junior Member cklotz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    FG has given you two possible and excellent options to further sort this out. Try them then post back your results.

    What OS are you using? I noticed you said SP2, is this windows XP Home or Pro, or MCE 2004, 2005, longhorn, etc?
    XP MCE 2004

  8. #8
    Junior Member cklotz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    12
    Man this thing is killing me, thanks for you help so far guys!

  9. #9
    Junior Member cklotz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Yep ?

    In the mean time defrag your HD, check the cables to the drive (use different cable). If using a ASPI ( Like Force ASPI) then un-install it, if your not using ASPI then try it Force ASPI
    I am unfamiliar with aspi, i found:
    WINASPI.DLL
    WNASPI32.DLL

    so im not sure how to uninstall this one
    Last edited by cklotz; November 28th, 2004 at 07:18 AM.

  10. #10
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by cklotz
    What is an ASPI?
    Click on that Force ASPI link. Follow the directions in Force ASPI and use the "Kill ASPI" first, re-boot and see if that helps. If not then use install ASPI.

    If this just started doing the I/O thing then it probably isn't ASPI unless you added a program that needs it.

    Did you add any other cards ? if so maybe you have a conflict with your IRQ's

    You could have a bad connection to the drive or your drive is going bad.

  11. #11
    Junior Member cklotz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    12
    Ok, the ASPI did not work
    Didnt add any cards
    Still stuck not being able to install the drive back.........

  12. #12
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by cklotz
    Still stuck not being able to install the drive back.........
    What does that mean ? you can't get the drive back in the LT ?


    Ok here's what I'd do. If you have warranty left then take it in for service, if not then backup your data and reinstall everything with recovery disk. If everything is still blotched then buy a new drive because it sounds like yours is going bad.

  13. #13
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    did anyone recommend doing a repair install then install the force aspi drivers after the service pack has been installed.



  14. #14
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    did anyone recommend doing a repair install
    No but I thought since so many things have been messed with it's best for clean install. I have a Toshiba and it's pretty fast with the recovery disk.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •