Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Will adding memory help?

  1. #1
    Bronze Member fatalfury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    104

    Question Will adding memory help?

    Here's what I've got:

    850mHz (Pentium III) Notebook
    384MB PC100 SDRAM
    20Gig HD

    I'm considering purchasing another stick of 256MB RAM to bring my total RAM up to 512MB. Since my processor is only 850mHz, will the extra RAM increase the speed of my notebook?

  2. #2
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    it really depends on what your doing.

    if your computer is running windowsxp you will make your os happy because it uses 128 of ram leaving only 256 for programs and games. ram is cheap and you will see a difference by opening more programs and they will repond much faster.
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  3. #3
    Bronze Member fatalfury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    104
    whoops, sorry, forgot to mention that I'm running Win XP Pro.

  4. #4
    Bronze Member fatalfury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by egghead
    it really depends on what your doing.

    if your computer is running windowsxp you will make your os happy because it uses 128 of ram leaving only 256 for programs and games. ram is cheap and you will see a difference by opening more programs and they will repond much faster.
    Yeah, the problem I'm encountering is a little warning that says my virtual memory is too low. So I thought perhaps more RAM would fix that. Sounds like it would. Good deal.

  5. #5
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by fatalfury
    Yeah, the problem I'm encountering is a little warning that says my virtual memory is too low. So I thought perhaps more RAM would fix that. Sounds like it would. Good deal.
    If your virtual memory is low, then your swap file is the wrong size. What's your Operating System?

  6. #6
    Bronze Member fatalfury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by Conan
    If your virtual memory is low, then your swap file is the wrong size. What's your Operating System?
    XP Pro

  7. #7
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Change your paging file size to System Managed. Then reboot your computer.


  8. #8
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    you should take a minute to do an online virus scan as we have seen viruses and trojans wreak havok with virtual memory due to constant screen capturing etc...

    you can do a virus scan here,
    http://www.pandasoftware.com/actives..._principal.htm

    you should also see what is running in your startup and disable the ones you rarily use
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  9. #9
    Bronze Member fatalfury's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    104
    Quote Originally Posted by Conan
    Change your paging file size to System Managed. Then reboot your computer.

    Alright thanks, I'll try that. It was set at 234MB.

  10. #10
    Junior Member mikedallos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Rochester, N.Y.
    Posts
    10

    Wink The Sweet Spot

    The sweet spot for XP Pro is 512 RAM: get it!!


    Be well.........


    Mike
    If you tell the truth, you don't have tons more to remember.

    Mark Twain

  11. #11
    Junior Member jseymour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Gainesville Florida
    Posts
    41
    Virtual memory should be set at 1.5 times your physical memory, if you manage it yourself. Will work larger or smaller, this is just a rule of thumb.

  12. #12
    Senior Member beelzebub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    238
    Of coarse i am assuming you have only two slots on your laptops motherboard. but ya, go with more ram, if you can get two sticks of 512 mb PC133 ram. you will deffinetly notice a difference.

    here is a little extra info...

    virtual memory is a section on your hard drive that is used as ram. when the ram is full is being used at max capacity it starts using what is allocated on the hard drive. But because it is a hard drive this memory is way slower than real Ram. If anything the best thing would be to have no virtual memory that has to be used by the computer. I am not trying to say bring it down to zero. What i mean is if anything you want the minimum amount of the allocated virtual memory being used. In essence i am saying pack as much ram as you can get into that laptop.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •