Thread: any suggestions for AMD Athlon XP CPU?

any suggestions for AMD Athlon XP CPU?

Hello everyone. New to the techzonez forums. Anyway, i perused through some of the threads - seems like a knowledgeable place. Im new to building computers. I have recently purchased a AMD motherboard that supports Socket A. I'd like to go with an Athlon XP flavor chip ( supports up to 3000+ ). But i've done some reading and it seems that the highest number chip doesn't always equate to the best one. I've heard sketchy things about the 2500+ barton - both good and bad. Anyone here have experience with any athlon xp chips (more importantly the 3000+). Im really looking for something that overclocks well on stock cooling but within range of the power that the 3000 supposedly has - just looking for suggestions. Thanks a bunch.

An0

Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Look no further than this http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-436&depa=0 best dang Athlon XP ever made

Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Look no further than this http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-436&depa=0 best dang Athlon XP ever made
    That should be a great chip. I chose another route. Bought the 2400XP for for $52.00 and overclocked it to 2600. Buy as fast as you budget will allow. You will be happy with it.

Fastgame - Did you overclock the 2600XP?
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by efc
    That should be a great chip. I chose another route. Bought the 2400XP for for $52.00 and overclocked it to 2600. Buy as fast as you budget will allow. You will be happy with it.

Fastgame - Did you overclock the 2600XP?
    Yes it's OC'd in my sons PC. it's @2310ghz with 210 (420)fsb, runs like a champ, had it up to 2500ghz but gets too hot for air and fsb won't go higher cuz of the ram.