Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: pdf prints other language or dingbats?

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    pdf prints other language or dingbats?

    Hello. I have a problem. No matter what I do, this document will not print in english. I have turned off language options in windows. I have tried to save as .doc but it reports insufficient permission. Help please? PDF: http://www.dmv.ca.gov/forms/dmv/dmv14.pdf

  2. #2
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    I tried printing it and it came out fine.

  3. #3
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    grrrrr. Conan, I don't want to know if it prints for you in english. I want to know what I can do to fix the problem. I see it in english but it refuses to print in english.

  4. #4
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Prints fine for me I know........sorry

    Does the printer print everything else ok ?

  5. #5
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    The first step in downloading Adobe Reader is to choose a language. Is it possible this step was missed when you downloaded your copy?

    I think I would uninstall adobe then download a fresh copy before you install again.

    Download Link
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  6. #6
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Quote Originally Posted by efc
    The first step in downloading Adobe Reader is to choose a language.
    hehe, I think by now I would realize if my app was in english or not (not being sarcastic) -
    - as I was saying, It reads in english but won't print this particular document in english



    here is what it is printing

    Last edited by lynchknot; December 30th, 2004 at 02:38 AM.

  7. #7
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    Lynchknot, I hope you don't take this as an insult. You get some very wierd problems.

    Now I suggest exorcism.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  8. #8
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by efc
    Lynchknot, I hope you don't take this as an insult. You get some very wierd problems.

    Now I suggest exorcism.
    hehe, actually he's done quite well lately....it's been almost a week since his last exorcism.... hey LK luv ya bud...

    Looks like a printer problem but he doesn't answer my question,
    Does the printer print everything else ok

  9. #9
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    yes the printer prints fine. I will also let you know that this also occured with Acrobat pro 6.0. I just installed 7.0 to see if it would resolve the problem. The other "weird" problem was solved. I get a lot of exorcise.

    I will try another document to see if it's limited to this particular one.

    *****edit - ok I went to: http://www.cgaux.org/cgauxweb/boating/NASBLA04NOTES.pdf - and the document printed in english so it's just that document.
    Last edited by lynchknot; December 30th, 2004 at 04:08 AM.

  10. #10
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Clean all your temp files and browser cache and try again with IE.

  11. #11
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    With IE? I downloaded the file and opened with Acrobat - same problem - but ok.


    *******edit - nope, same problem using IE.
    Last edited by lynchknot; December 30th, 2004 at 06:33 AM.

  12. #12
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by lynchknot
    With IE? I downloaded the file and opened with Acrobat - same problem - but ok.
    I know that LK but you got to the file with Firefox and who knows ? you have a weird problem so try some weird solutions would you rather I said Format ?

    You want me to fax you some copys ? I have a bunch of them from testing on other PC's

  13. #13
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I edited above - tried it with IE and have the same problem - and it's just this one document. Thanks anyway but a fax will not send the correct colored copy. I would not reformat for this one document.

    **edit - can you convert to .doc and send it to me?
    Last edited by lynchknot; December 30th, 2004 at 18:05 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •