Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: k7sa..amd 2200+...booting freeze

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    11

    k7sa..amd 2200+...booting freeze

    This might be funny but my friend is struggling and needs some help and unfortunately I can not help. This is what happened...he was installing a radeon 9200 video card and it loaded up somewhat decent. He cam up with an error that the driver wasnt working so we went to the site and downloaded the newest driver. When he went to restart it, he went to the bios screen and moved it to 166.. Well thats were the problem came, when he did that the comp froze on him. He turned it off and then retried to restart it, all he got was a black screen, the keyboard frozen and then the auto power saver comes on,not even the bios screen comes on anymore. Any help would be grateful considering he is about to brake everything!!!!!

    thanks_
    tdawg_65

  2. #2
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    hi tdawg_65, welcome to techzonez

    it appears your friend might have overclocked the cpu and you need him to turn the computer off to prevent much damage.

    tell him to turn on the computer while holding the page down button (might be page up button)

    this should reset your bios and the computer should turn on on next boot

    keep us updated
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  3. #3
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    You can turn all the power off (unplug PC) and pull the battery out of the mother board to reset the CMOS back to default. There's also some CMOS jumper pins & jumper block right by the battery that will reset the CMOS.

    Make sure all power is off when doing this.
    Last edited by FastGame; December 30th, 2004 at 13:14 PM.

  4. #4
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    my way is still the easiest hehe

    i used to do it all the time with my k7s5a and my asus p4p8x with p4p800 bios

    works like a charm

    its in the manual btw
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  5. #5
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by egghead
    my way is still the easiest hehe
    Oh yeah, my dad can beat your dad.. lol

    I agree your way may be the easiest but mine is the most for sure way, I can do it my way without a key board...take that Mr egg

  6. #6
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    After you two complete the dual, let us know who survived.

    A little more info about the k7s5a. It is only for processors with 266/200 MHz FSB. The place your friend chose the 166 setting, he should choose 133 instead. That value is doubled to provide 266 MHz.

    If he needs a manual for the mobo, he can download it here - http://www.ecsusa.com/downloads/manual_k7s.html
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by efc
    After you two complete the dual, let us know who survived.

    A little more info about the k7s5a. It is only for processors with 266/200 MHz FSB. The place your friend chose the 166 setting, he should choose 133 instead. That value is doubled to provide 266 MHz.

    If he needs a manual for the mobo, he can download it here - http://www.ecsusa.com/downloads/manual_k7s.html
    No he does not have a manual...so thanks alot, Also...thanks to all he has his pc working again...next round on me!!!

  8. #8
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    Quote Originally Posted by tdawg_65
    No he does not have a manual...so thanks alot, Also...thanks to all he has his pc working again...next round on me!!!
    great!

    hey, can you enlighten us on how he got it up and running? for futrure reference?
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by egghead
    great!

    hey, can you enlighten us on how he got it up and running? for futrure reference?
    He unplugged all the connections and took out the battery and sat it out overnight and then connected everything back up. He said that all the programs were running fine even faster than usual and all of his bios were set to default.

  10. #10
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,180
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Oh yeah, my dad can beat your dad.. lol

    I agree your way may be the easiest but mine is the most for sure way, I can do it my way without a key board...take that Mr egg
    lmao....take your egg and beat it....wah ha ha

  11. #11
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    haha

    my way would have been 1 minute later....
    btw does that make a good egg?

    ------------------------------------------------------------



  12. #12
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,180
    Quote Originally Posted by egghead
    haha

    my way would have been 1 minute later....
    btw does that make a good egg?


    As long as you add butter and cheese with a bit of onion

  13. #13
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Ladies & Gentlemen, I present you The ONE! The ONLY! Mr FastGame Sound, Action, roll the camera.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •