Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Home Page Can't Change!!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9

    Home Page Can't Change!!!!

    MY IE'S HOMEPAGE IS LAWAYS SHOWING "SEARCH THE WEB" PAGE.

    I CAN'T CHANGE IT TO OTHER HOMEPAGE.

    I SEE "ABOUT : BLANK" IN ADDRESS BAR.

    I AM AFRAID THAT THAT COULD BE SOMETHING BAD FOR MY COMPUTER.

    PLS HELP ME.

    NAY LIN

  2. #2
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    The Spyware thread covers most things of this nature. Check it out and try some of the fixes there. You might wanna try CWShredder specifically. It can be downloaded from: http://www.softpedia.com/get/Interne...Shredder.shtml

  3. #3
    Triple Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    883
    a classic case of spyware...see the link in rik's sig titled "spyware removal tips" to go through advice offered on spyware removal by egghead..

    if ur looking for a spyware removal tool, i recommend ad-aware SE personal edition by lavasoft... or u can also try rik's suggestion...

  4. #4
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    gotta admit that the new microsoft(giant) anti spyware is working like a champ on my pc and can be found on MS home site.



  5. #5
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    About:Blank - try AboutBuster http://www.spychecker.com/download/d...outbuster.html
    and X-cleaner Free http://www.xblock.com/download/xcleaner_free.exe
    both are very good and completely reliable.

  6. #6
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9

    I Did It!

    THANK YOU VERY VERY MUCH GUYS.

    I AM VERY MUCH APPRECIATED FOR UR GUIDANCE.............


    NOW I CAN CHANGE ANY HOMEPAGE I WANT.


    THANKS

    NAY LIN

  8. #8
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    So could you share what the fix was?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9

    The Way I Fix It!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    RIK, I downloaded Ad-Aware Personal and scanned in my computer.

    Later, scanner says that there is "home search assistant engine" was in my computer which could potentially be ad ware.

    So I went to add and remove programme in control panel and removed "home search assistant".

    It was so cool that I could again managed my homepage.

    By the way, thanks again ur guys for helping me out.

    Nay Lin

  10. #10
    Triple Platinum Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    883
    u shud carry out a adaware scan and a complete virus check at least once a month to prevent troubles....

    also have u tried mozilla's firefox? takes some time to get used to if ur switching frm ie...but once u get used to it...ull never want to use ie agn...that and there are minimal security issues with firefox in comparison wid ie6...

  11. #11
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    gotta admit that the new microsoft(giant) anti spyware is working like a champ on my pc and can be found on MS home site.
    Really? has it been successfull in detecting and deleting adware stuff?? It seemed a little gimicky at first.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  12. #12
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    I have it running on 12 system and it seems to be doing a pretty good job. I especially like the fact that it auto-updates and is a free app!! Of course it is Time Bombed...it expires 7/31/05.

  13. #13
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    will m$ make it a free program after the Beta stage? Hopefully it will get bundled into Xp2 or longhorn *Anti-trust, cough*

    Has it detected anything yet?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •