Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: No Back-up

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    No Back-up

    Can anyone tell me why i'm not able to BU anything with this utility........SCREENSHOT
    Last edited by lynchknot; July 15th, 2002 at 07:45 AM.

  2. #2
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049
    I would love to help you lynchknot, but your link doesnt seem to be working
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

  3. #3
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    try it now I left one letter out of the URL!

  4. #4
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Try backing up to a different drive. If this works look to see if there is a problem on the G: drive.

  5. #5
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049
    First of all is G:/ a CDRW drive or a hard drive letter, if its the first try coping it to a section on your hard drive and then burning it from there. Unfortunatly XP can write data to CD-RW, but not directly from NTBackup. However, you can place backup files in the XP CD-RW write subsystem's spooler, which effectively writes the data directly to CD-RW. To add files to the spooler, perform the following steps:

    Try following these steps:

    1. Start NTBackup (go to Start, Programs, Accessories, System
    2. Tools, and click Backup).
    3. Select the Backup tab.
    4. Select the files that you want to back up to CD-RW.
    5. Select File for the type of "Backup destination."
    Enter the following file location:

    C:\documents and settings\<user name>\Local Settings\
    Application Data\Microsoft\CD Burning\Backup.bkf

    If you aren't sure what the <user name> variable needs to be, go to a command prompt and type
    echo %userprofile% to check your %userprofile% environment setting.

    6. After you specify the location of your files in the CD-RW
    cache, right-click the "CD write" icon in Windows Explorer and select "Write these files to CD" to write the backup files to CD-RW.

    Make sure the size of your backup doesn't exceed the capacity of your storage media.
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

  6. #6
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Thanks. I found out, when you were posting, that I can BU to D drive. From there i'll copy what you wrote and decipher your "computer" language and make the attempt at my first BU!!

  7. #7
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    So.......................do I choose "all information" and copy to D drive (which is HD) and then to CDRW?

  8. #8
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    I would imagine it is the first choice, My Documents... But I don't think that anyone here has backed up their stuff using that wizard. I do mine manually through Windows Explorer. Give it a shot though.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    I am a confessed manual backer upper... as Conan is. I don't like that wizard and if you choose to back up everything, it will take quite a few disks, considering my 60-70gigs of sheet on my HDDs... I recommend doing your own backing up of downloaded files, documents, text, favorites, contacts etc...
    I feel you have more control over what you want to put on the disk and what you don't want to put on your disk. With a wizard you have categories, and it will back up based on those categories.. it's up to you.
    BB

  10. #10
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049
    If your going to use the wizard dont back up everything, cause you will end up with too large a backup file. I too manually back up my system but only choose critical files or files that I would maybe might like to put back on my system at a later date. I Tried the wizard a few times at first but found it alot easier manually, the wizard is easier if you are unsure
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •