Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Networking two computer directly

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    3

    Networking two computer directly

    Me and my brother want to be able to share files, but we does not have a router...so we are going to have to connect our computer together with a LAN cable. We both have 2 network cards...and we just got a crossover cable(wasn't sure if you needed straight or crossover).And well i have connected them, then ran the windows utility to network two compuer(just like i would if i networked a computer through a router)...and i was curious what settings do you need to set, because i tried the second setting(default)...and it doesn't work...The Server name is the same (MSHOME)..and our computer naems are different..but i have no clue how to be able to do that...any ideas would be great...thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    What operating system are you using?

    Here's how with Windows 95/98/me to XP:

    http://www.cellarstoneindia.com/cabl...Windows_XP.pdf
    Last edited by Big Booger; January 29th, 2005 at 00:45 AM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Big Booger
    What operating system are you using?

    Here's how with Windows 95/98/me to XP:

    http://www.cellarstoneindia.com/cabl...Windows_XP.pdf
    it's XP to XP

  4. #4
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Also check out WWW.WOWN.COM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •