Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: Windows cannot read from this disk. The disk might be corrupted... - [FIXED]

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7

    Windows cannot read from this disk. The disk might be corrupted... - [FIXED]

    I just recently was able to do a XP repair on my OS for new hardware. I am getting this error when I try to access my cd-burner(master) or dvd-rom(slave) on my sec_ide

    Windows cannot read from this disk. The disk might be corrupted, or it could be using a format that is not compatible with windows.

    I have tried several disks that are known to be fine. However when I reboot the system with the disks in the tray it can access the disk fine! But if i take it out and put it or another back in, it can't be accessed. All this started when I added my dvd-rom awhile back, hasnt worked correctly since. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

  2. #2
    Old, Cranky and Perverted Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,687
    If you take that drive out is it back to normal?

  3. #3
    Silver Member joshsiao's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    357
    I think you need to configure the jumpers on your drives to its specific position or better still, cable select which automatically lets your BIOS detect the master and slave.
    "Never seem more learnt then the people you are with. Wear your learning like a watch and keep it hidden. Do not pull it out to count the hours, but give the time when you are asked."
    ~Chesterfield

  4. #4
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    If it all happened when you added your DVD rom - you know what to do.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7
    Unfortunately, taking out the DVD-Rom does not fix it! Or uninstalling. I've tried it. Right now it's in a repair shop, they are having a look at it. I will let you know what they find out. I tried cs as well and it didn't seem to help. The device manager in Win Xp does not report any IRQ conflicts or device problems, but reports both as working correctly. The drivers for both are updated.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1
    Hi Dreadhorn, I have dell inspiron 2500 laptop running xp. I have exact same problem. I added cdrw/dvd ages ago when in ME but upgrade to XP seems to have led to problem as described by yourself.When I remove the new device and use only the original integrated cd drive I still have the same problem. I can read a floppy ok in the floppy drive.Please let me know what your repair shop comes up with. I guess I'll be paying them a visit myself.

  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    I have actually seen this problem before and I don't really know what causes it but previously doing an in-place install has fixed it. One thing I noticed in the previous case was that the DVD rom drive was picked up by XP as something other than the actual make/model, perhaps it is a driver issue but why an in-place install would correct it when un-install re-install does not I am afraid I do not know.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7

    Red face

    The repair shop called me back, and said an my IDE controllers (onmy brand new mobo) are bad. This does not make sense, as my hard drive works(I get into windows), and the cd-rom & dvd-rom detect cds on boot up. So I asked the guy to try to test to see if there are any internal OS conflicts. If he still thinks it's an IDE controller problem, I am not shipping back my system until I resintall windows. I will let you know if they determine anything else.

    -Dread

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    7

    Thumbs up Solution

    The problem was this:

    Several internal OS driver conflicts. It slowed down Windows XP as well ( a 4 min boot time). If you can boot into safe mode and your drives work then it is definitely this problem.

    The solution is:

    A complete format and reinstall of windows. An xp repair did not fix it. An inplace install did not fix it. A complete format and reinstall is necessary to remove the conflicting drivers. Be sure to back up your files to another disk first!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1

    Trouble accessing CD drives in XP and Win2K

    I have had this problem with CD drives in Windows 2000 and XP also and have found that USB drivers for pen drives and USB card drivers are the cause. Some USB drivers cause problems accessing the CD Drives expecially if Win98 drivers have been installed by mistake but normal USB drivers for Win2K and XP also cause this.

    As yet I have not found a solution except to uninstall the USB drivers.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4
    i get this same message, i try playing a DVD movie that i purchased legally in the US, and thats where i live, so i dont think its a region code issue, in my dvd/cd-rw drive that came with the computer and i get that exact message. I have the Compaq Presario Sr1130nx, i have areadly updated my intervideo windvd player and it still happens, but it only happens on some DVD's, another DVD i purchased the same day from the same store play's back just fine in the same drive, i tried it in my friends DVD player. could somone please help me with this issue, i know its an old thread, also, im not too computer savvy so i didnt really understand what the people in the other posts were saying, i.e. ICQ, and it was a in-house install or re-install?? i just need to know what to do, thank you

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4
    another note, in My computer the icon for the drive is a cd on top of the drive and next to it it says DVD/CD-RW Drive (E, and after i put in the DVD that gets the error message, the icond turns into a big cd and underneath it it says DVD-ROM and next to it it now says CD Drive (E, do you think the drive is thinking that i put in an audio or data cd and thats why i get the error message?
    Quote Originally Posted by Curio
    One thing I noticed in the previous case was that the DVD rom drive was picked up by XP as something other than the actual make/model, perhaps it is a driver issue but why an in-place install would correct it when un-install re-install does not I am afraid I do not know.
    that sounds like it might be true to this cause i went to compaq help and typed in my model puter and it listed the updates and firmware for a drive that wasnt in my comp, maybe i do have that drive they listed but my computer for some reason lists it as a different model? like i said b4 though, i dont know much about computers, so i ask for your help, thank you

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4
    hey, just checking if anyone knows what this problem is, or how to fix it, thanks

  14. #14
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Hmmm interesting problem... you should confirm that both DVDs you bought work in another computer. Also, what were the DVDs, i heard some come with extra protection and wont play correctly when they detect a DVD-RW or different ASPI layers etc....

    Good luck, give it a bit of time for the experts here to do some research

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4
    yea, both the DVD's play perfect in other players, this stinks man, haha , the one thats not playing is American History X, and the one that plays fine is the brand new King Kong, thats y i dont get it, the brand new movie works fine but this older one is the on giving me problems

    should i just give up and get a brand new drive, do u think its software issues, cause the drive works just fine??

    i hope these discs arent comming with nmore protection, that'd suck, but if they are, how do i get around that, new software ior what not?

    thanks for replying tho dude

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •