Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cabling problems

  1. #1
    Junior Member sirjavabean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    40

    Thumbs up Cabling problems

    I need to run 20m of CAT5 cabling up 3 floors of my house. Is there any way I can do this by going outside? Would I needx any special cables?
    The King of all things that aren't to do with Java...

    Go Linux!

    You run linux, you crash windows!

    My Legend of the Green Dragon Server!
    sirjavabean.hyspex.com/lotgd

  2. #2
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    You can buy cable for running networks outside or between buildings. It is expensive and may be hard to find. Here is a source for 1000' roll.

    LINK

    Here is an article discussing running cable outside.

    LINK
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    I've done this the ghetto way. I bought 2 rolls of duct tape, wrapped the cables thoroughly, and run a 50 meter cable from my apartment to a friend's apartment so we could LAN and exchange files faster (he lived in the building next to mine). It worked and held up in the elements, but I wouldn't do this permanent.

    Either solutions provided by efc should do it.

    You might get by with some air conditioning-type conduit, and inserting the ethernet cable into it.

    Something like this:

    http://www.homedepot.com/cmc_upload/...s/300969_3.jpg

    Then just mount it up, run the cable through and make sure it is sealed properly.

  4. #4
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Have you given any thought to going over you power lines in the house?

    NETGEAR - Wall-Plugged Ethernet Bridge
    http://www.netgear.com/products/details/XE102.php

  5. #5
    Friendly Neighborhood Super Moderator phishhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    San Diego, Ca.
    Posts
    3,732
    just a suggestion but couldnt you just PVC pipe and enclose the ends with some kind of rubber grommet to make it weather proof.



  6. #6
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Quote Originally Posted by phishhead
    just a suggestion but couldnt you just PVC pipe and enclose the ends with some kind of rubber grommet to make it weather proof.

    Just what I was gonna suggest...

  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    I have used internal cat5 outside many times, you should put a drip curl in the cable at the bottom of a run and fill the hole with a sealant. As long as the cable is securely attached you won't get any problems. If the cable can blow around in the wind it will break real quick.
    A drip curl is a downward U shaped bend in the cable as it comes out of the wall, any collected rain water drips off the bottom of the U instead of resting in the hole that the cable exits from, you will need to use a cleat very near there to hold the curl in position.

  8. #8
    Junior Member sirjavabean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    40
    thanks, will do. that conduit stuff seemed a little expensive, though. probably cheapler to go wireless and buy all that 108mb/s stuff from d/link
    The King of all things that aren't to do with Java...

    Go Linux!

    You run linux, you crash windows!

    My Legend of the Green Dragon Server!
    sirjavabean.hyspex.com/lotgd

  9. #9
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Quote Originally Posted by sirjavabean
    thanks, will do. that conduit stuff seemed a little expensive, though. probably cheapler to go wireless and buy all that 108mb/s stuff from d/link
    Yep, was going to suggest wireless anyway, just enable security and password everything...

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  10. #10
    Junior Member sirjavabean's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    40
    done as of march ish.
    usual probs though but in all easier than drilling holes in the outside of my house...
    in end cos of cost issue i settled for an 11b connection. the benq router was dirt cheap of ebay and so was the adapter (ten pounds each inc. posting).
    The King of all things that aren't to do with Java...

    Go Linux!

    You run linux, you crash windows!

    My Legend of the Green Dragon Server!
    sirjavabean.hyspex.com/lotgd

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •