Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25

Thread: Incredimail problem...no one seems to know....

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy Incredimail problem...no one seems to know....

    I have incredimail and its been great. Yesterday after downloading zonealarm, email links do not take me into the internet. It tryies but nothing. I have asked several people(with internet support experience) who have no idea how to fix this problem.
    They tell me I have to leave it this way...there is no solution.
    I have restarted my computer, reset it 6 times to various dates. I have uninstalled and reinstalled zonealarm...
    Help.

  2. #2
    Phoar!! TZ Veteran zErO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Middle Earth
    Posts
    1,049
    Welcome Susan
    First of what version of incredimail are you currently running on your computer. If its an older version you may try updating to the latest version. Have you tried uninstalling incredimail and then reinstalling it to see if that can fix your hyperlink error. Try running system restore, back to the point before you first installed Zone Alarm. Zone Alarm may still be port blocking or stopping Incredimails hyperlinks, so a fresh install may be the best solution if system restore fails to help. Just make sure that you back up your address book and other essentials.

    I hope this helps but I do not use this program, so someone that does may be able to give you some more insight
    R.I.P
    MSN Status: | Please Read The Forum Rules

  3. #3
    Gold Member harrytb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    430
    hi there susan,welcome.

    i am running IM but,
    without zone alarm.
    i run Noron I.S,and have no problems.

    have you tried emailing zone alarm and IM's tech people?

    sorry i can't be of much use here.

    ill be back soon,
    just watching some paint dry.

  4. #4
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    If you are using ZAP 3.0 that is your problem. Go back to an earlier version and that should fix it. I use ZAP 2.6.......

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    6

    Zap 2.6

    Tinker. Thanks. I have the 2.6 version. I am not a computer guru at all.
    So I know I have done something wrong but do not know how to rectify this problem.
    I uninstalled incredimail and installed it again.
    I uninstalled zone alarm and re installed it too.
    I tried to restore my computer to an earlier time and it says that it worked but programs are still there.
    Everyday I try something to fix it but nothing...
    Thanks for your help and everyone else who replied.
    I sort of enjoy this glitch and trying to solve it...

  6. #6
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    I have the same problem. It does not happen all the time but when it does I use ctrl+alt+delete to get the task manger to come up. There is always a program running called "CTL" running. I end that task and some times it does the trick but more often that not it does not. I then start closing out running programs using task manger until thing get back to normal. At this point I as a rule have to log out and then back in to get the problem to go away and about a third of the time I have to reboot. Oh yes I am also running IM and ZAP..... I will try to post a screen shot the next time this happens. By the way welcome to the board and your are in the best place to get a problem solved IMHO. These folks are the best...............

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    6

    Lightbulb Incredimail issue What if?

    If I install a bug system will it find the problem for me and help me fix it?
    and if so which bug program is recommended?

    Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

  8. #8
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    I just installed incredimail,(with all options set to default)and sent myself some test e-mails enclosing some hyperlinks.
    Every link worked fine.However I use Sygate Personal Firewall,not Zone Alarm.

    So it would appear your problem is almost certainly caused by Zone Alarm.
    I would check out the Zone Alarm support site,and see if they have recognized the possible bug.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  9. #9
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I also use Incredimail and Sygate. Everything works and I like Sygate over Tiny or Kerio.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    6

    Talking Thank you

    I will check out Sygate. I too thought zonealarm could be the problem. I uninstalled it once but was told to put it back in due to problems.
    Well it can't be worse than this.
    Keep your fingers crossed.

  11. #11
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    Susan, please let us know if this solves your problem. I have been delaying doing anything for now because I paid for ZAP and trying to squeeze out my monies worth. I surly will change if this takes care of it for you. Thanks.........

  12. #12
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Here's Sygate from Webattack

  13. #13
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Hopefully you will get your Zone Alarm problem sorted out.
    If you are interested in Sygate their homepage is here
    The non-pro version is free.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  14. #14
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064
    I found this link on another forum that had a post about XP and ZAP 2.6... What I did was shut down ZAP so that True vector would not load and then uninstall ZAP completely, reboot. Next I reloaded ZAP 2.6.. I will see what happens after the reload for a few days.....

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    6

    Unhappy No resolution.....

    Well I uninstalled incredimail, zone alarm, restarted my computer, made certain no trace files etc were lingering, deleted them, restarted my computer again....
    Installed sygate free version for now thanks
    Re installed incredimail and the same problem....
    I do not know what the problem could be?

    Well it's 3 am here and I am going to sleep...
    But any solutions would be helpful.
    This is crazy.....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •