Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: IE's pop-up Blocker

  1. #1
    Triple Platinum Member wumply's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Belmont, NH
    Posts
    802

    IE's pop-up Blocker

    Hey, I determined that Microsoft's pop-up blocker is part of IE but IE is also part of XP and Service Pack 2. So I'm hoping I put this post in an at-least-logical forum!!

    How is it that an unwanted popup will sometimes get through even if I set the most stringent controls to block them. How do the programmers get around, albeit rarely in my case, the blocker?
    I've created my own website...a collection of moving, sad and happy and humorous poems which I would like to share with others. They come from stories my dad used to tell me when I was a kid. If you could glance at my site and if you know of others who might enjoy it and perhaps tell them of it, I would be most appreciative. Thank you. The address is www.metrocast.net/~wumply/exper-1.html

  2. #2
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    How is it that an unwanted popup will sometimes get through even if I set the most stringent controls to block them. How do the programmers get around, albeit rarely in my case, the blocker?
    The guys are sneaky & their job is never done just like virus writers

    I notice popup's getting through Firefox now, but the popup blocker in Google toolbar is the best so far

  3. #3
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    I notice popup's getting through Firefox now, but the popup blocker in Google toolbar is the best so far
    Really? I havent had any FFox popups yet... thus no need for Googlebar...

    have you got a link to site that beats FFox??

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  4. #4
    Triple Platinum Member wumply's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Belmont, NH
    Posts
    802
    I get a pop-up from time to time with Firefox. But they are rare. But they were rare with IE also. It may be partly a function of how often we get on what sites and what links we click or don't click once on a site.

  5. #5
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Quote Originally Posted by cash_site
    Really? I havent had any FFox popups yet... thus no need for Googlebar...

    have you got a link to site that beats FFox??
    Here's a SS of one

    I also get them at cdfreaks.com and a few other places, maybe my FF is broken

    I only use Google toolbar with IE, not FF

  6. #6
    Techzonez Governor Super Moderator Conan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    4,343
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Here's a SS of one

    I also get them at cdfreaks.com and a few other places, maybe my FF is broken

    I only use Google toolbar with IE, not FF
    I just visited that sight in your screenshot and no pop-ups for me.

  7. #7
    all bets are off... TZ Veteran SupaStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,680
    No popups here either. Maybe you should do a scan for adware?

  8. #8
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,044
    Supa,just looking at your screenie, 10 tabs open for TZ.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  9. #9
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    I don't get the popups with the new FF, and I never have spyware unless none of (I have them all) spyware programs work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •