Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: screensaver password on resume

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    screensaver password on resume

    I was not sure how to word this. Consequently, I have not found a solution. When pc goes into screensaver and on resume there is a password dialog box but if PC is on all night then in morning on resume all I see is a blank screen (colored) no dialog - no way to remedy other than hitting the reset button. Anyone have any fix?

  2. #2
    Titanium Member Tinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Indiana U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,064

  3. #3
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I want the password resume feature - just when overnight or many hours, the dialog does not appear anymore when resuming - I have to use reset button to get back in.

  4. #4
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Do you have it set to allow the system to Hibernate or go into a level of Sleep Mode? If so all of your hardware also has to support that function fully to allow the Power Management features of Windows to work properly. If all peripherals do not support the same Power Management features then what you are describing can happen.

  5. #5
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I thought that was for notebooks (batteries) I have emule running so I figure it's not sleeping. I have everything set to "always on" - so if I use the screensaver which is it, hibernate or sleep (or does it matter as long as it's one or the other) - thanks

    **edit - it won't let me

    Last edited by lynchknot; March 3rd, 2005 at 22:57 PM.

  6. #6
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    Just uncheck "Enable Hibernation", and set it to turn off the monitor after however long you want.

  7. #7
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    Check through the other power settings as well - turn of hard disk after - blah, sleep mode after - blah-di-blah. Each setting can have an undesirable effect of not allowing your PC to wake back up. Try each one on it's own to isolate the problem, if the PC had actually gone into Hibernate it would appear to be powered off.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2
    is it possible to get "on resume, display welcome screen" if all i can seem to make it say is "on resume, password protect" ? ive been trying for a while to get it to go to the welcome screen, ive tried everything i can think of, but its not working...any help would be great....thanks

  9. #9
    Member TestMAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the local PC parts store.
    Posts
    82
    i think that works only when there are multiple accounts on one machine.
    AMD64 3800+ w/stock HSF | 2 x PowMax dual fan 550Watt | Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI | GeIL 512MB DDR400 PC3200 Ultra Series Dual Channel Memory | 2 x EVGA 6600 GT 128MB PCI-E on SLI setup | Thermaltake Tsunami Case w/120mm

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2
    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •