Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 53

Thread: I smell smoke

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    I smell smoke

    re: this post: http://www.techzonez.com/forums/show...7843#post87843

    Something wrong with that kb - now I plug this old IBM kb and I smell smoke (or burning electronic "plastic" smell - but it's working

    *edit - no, it's from my computer. I don't see anythig unusual in MBM though but I do smell electronic burning smell.





    maybe my caps are leaking. It's a biostar board - maybe it's one of the leakers.
    Last edited by lynchknot; March 4th, 2005 at 01:53 AM.

  2. #2
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    for the 18 that viewed with no comment. Thanks.

    I need to shut this down because it's smelling up the house.

  3. #3
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    for the 18 that viewed with no comment. Thanks.
    I'm the 17th and you were here at least once so thats 15 not including you

    Guess I'm too late cuz I would have told you to turn it off before it stinks the house up, or burned it down.

  4. #4
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Sorry just saw thread now
    What do you mean nothing is wrong, which sensor is reading 123oF

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  5. #5
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    uh huh

  6. #6
    Titanium Member efc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    North Central Arkansas
    Posts
    2,329
    Hey Lynch,

    You can now say, without any qualification, that you have one hot machine.

    One suggestion that no one else has given, I would make sure that your homeowner's insurance policy is paid up.
    Linux Mint Debian Edition

  7. #7
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    Quote Originally Posted by efc
    One suggestion that no one else has given, I would make sure that your homeowner's insurance policy is paid up.
    or you could leave your mother-in-law in the room

    j/k

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  8. #8
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    i wouldn't use the keyboard if it is roasting your chips.

    motherboard is useless with a dead keyboard connector...

    well you could go usb i guess.

    if it is an old ibmkeyboard you should find a switch underneath for xt-at or something.\
    ------------------------------------------------------------



  9. #9
    The Beast Master TZ Veteran PIPER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,180
    Quote Originally Posted by cash_site
    or you could leave your mother-in-law in the room

    j/k
    lmao....or tie her to the puter....wah ha ha

  10. #10
    Triple Platinum Member Curio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    899
    123 degrees woohoo now that is overcooking. Is that why it points to the RED bit - indicating an error condition?

  11. #11
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    sorry for my "outburst" - I felt like a man on fire with a room full of spectators. I had to keep PC on (at least until it started to smoke - which it is not but smellls like it) I've got a minute on this other computer (not mine) so i'm posting this.
    I started it this morning and it will log in. When apps start I get a dll error saying that windows is shutting down - not enough time to get to event viewer. I still smell a strong electronic overheating smell but cannot find the source. All capacitors look fine.
    As far as temperature goes, it's not really that hot (I mean not enough to shut down computer:
    123 degree Fahrenheit = 50.5555556 degree Celsius
    And the keyboard? I have no clue. The old IBM keyboard works fine. Perhaps my power supply sent too much voltage to the keyboard?
    Last edited by lynchknot; March 5th, 2005 at 16:45 PM.

  12. #12
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    I was, just now, using PE with no problems....I was about to post, until I noticed that the network connection failed. I look over to the motherboard and the fan was not spinning! The (thermaltake) fan speed control does not function as well...or maybe voltage for only one speed - slow. Do you think the power supply is failing or something else? Thanks

    I have an infared thermometer - pointing to the fan read well over 200F. Here's a pic of it earlier (though it's not really reading the cpu temp * edit -yep, it's the temp of the fan seizing)



    edit - ok back on using PE. I swapped fans and it seems to work, although there is no speed control and it's spinning slow at 3125rpm, it's at 44 celcius (typical for my pc would be 40). I'm still thinking the power supply because of the keyboard problem - maybe it fried the speed control (however that works) I'm going to go back to windows xp to check......

    *edit - wonderfull - if it's not one thing, then it's another - can't go to windows now

    NTDLR is MISSING press Control Alt Delete
    *edit - hehe, opps! I selected HDD1 instead of HDD0 for boot.

    so I log into windows - apps are loading - suddenly windows informs me that it's logging off. It is now stuck on "saving your settings"
    BTW, the problem was the fan. I plugged it into a case fan plug and it spins very slowly then stops - still, maybe power supply broke it. Trying "last known good"...........

    *edit - that worked. I'm getting overvoltage warnings from winbond - appears to be voltage spikes. Notice it's in the -12 volt range at -13.01





    and the there's this:

    Last edited by lynchknot; March 5th, 2005 at 20:47 PM.

  13. #13
    Hardware guy Super Moderator FastGame's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Blasters worm farm
    Posts
    3,416
    Remember when BB's power supply burned up and stunk his place up ?

    Did you try another PS ?

  14. #14
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,941
    Quote Originally Posted by FastGame
    Remember when BB's power supply burned up and stunk his place up ?

    Did you try another PS ?
    I just tried to search for that thread.. I couldn't find it.. yeah my PSU was causing weird behavior right before it smelled funny... then I kept it running and it made a popping noise... and that was all she wrote...

  15. #15
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Did the fluctuations in voltage break my keyboard and cpu fan? BTW, my PS did not smell - it was not even hot - it was my cpu as the fan was quitting. Please give me a good idea on a cheap yet good watts and amps? Thanks
    Last edited by lynchknot; March 7th, 2005 at 00:59 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •