Thread: New to upgrading

New to upgrading

Hi everyone, my first post here!

After getting a part-time job recently, I now actually have some money to throw around for a change, and am thinking of upgrading my computer. However, I am totally new to upgrading and although I am reasonably computer literate with software, I don't know very much about hardware.

On my PC which I bought a bought about 2 or 3 years ago now, I am running Windows XP on a Pentium 4 2.5Ghz processor, with 512Mb Ram and an Nvidia GeForce Mx 420 graphics card. This runs games (pretty much what I only use it for) reasonably well, but it is now starting to chug a little. I was thinking of upgrading my graphics card to a GeForce 6800 GT, but found my motherboard can only take up to 4X AGP, which I don't think will take it. As I have the money I think I might as well upgrade my motherboard aswell so I can still have the new graphics card, which is where my main worry comes in.

As I have no experience in ungrading, i'd like to know are there any possible dangers? While my system is starting to age a little, it is nonetheless very stable and all my games run fine without any crashes, unless it is a problem with the game itself that is able to be fixed with a patch. If I go and upgrade my motherboard, my graphics card and maybe some RAM aswell all at once, could this jeopardise my so far excellent stability? I'd love to go and buy Far Cry then marvel at the grahics, but if my PC starts crashing because some parts of my hardware arent suited to the new arrivals, I'd rather not upgrade at all.

So, is there no need to worry? And if not, then what motherboard should I choose, and perhaps what else could/should I upgrade while I'm at it? Thanks for reading all this, and I'll appreciate any replies.