Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Network connection Slow, and high security

Network connection Slow, and high security

Hi all, I am rather new to this so please bare with me.

I started an IT Job at LPGF a few months ago, prior to me starting there the was no domain, everything was in mulitple workgroups. but now that everything is on a domain (apart from the client servers), the network connection is slow, and you are asked for athentication everytime you try to connect to a server/ PC, this is happening to the client servers (which I was expecting), and the servers/PC on the domain, any suggestions to solve this?

Thanks in advance.

Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    It sounds like some Active Directory and Kerberos Authentication issues...

Can you give some more details about the Network layout and server/client PC versions etc...

I dont know LPGF, so not sure about size, are you running Small Business Server or just plain Server 2003? Are client PCs XP or mixed with some 98/ME? When the new server was installed and configured, were each client PC 'connected' to domain?

--- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

we are running XP on all the PC's, and server 2003 on all the servers. All the PC's are connected to the domain. we have about 40 PC's and 8 servers on the domain.
    Last edited by Bullett23; March 9th, 2005 at 13:26 PM.

Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Definitely sounds like some GPO settings, check your domain controller server, and see what type and when authentication occurs... do users login to the domain or local machine?

--- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

The users logon to the domain. I'm not sure how I check authentication types, but in event viewer my security logs are consently filling up, not sure if that helps.

What's the backend hardware like? Switches/hubs ect... you may have a hardware bottleneck somewhere

Have you joined all the PCs to the domain?
    Are all the PC clocks synchronised in any way?