Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: HD seek error rate

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    HD seek error rate

    While watching a movie and posting in forums this seek error popped up. Is there any concern? Is this considered a bad sign?


  2. #2
    Old and Cranky Super Moderator rik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Watching Your every move...
    Posts
    4,688
    What app is that LK?

  3. #3
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    seek error could be the drive trying to predict the next bunch of data that it thinks you want to retrieve, but makes wrong decision and has to dump the buffer... ??

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  4. #4
    Member TestMAD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the local PC parts store.
    Posts
    82
    if thats the case.. what cash_site said..try defragging. XP may say that you dont need to do it, but do it anyways. Lot's of MS stuff lies to you. i would even suggest looking for some of those super boot disks that have the old school defrag on it. If yer NTFS, you can prolly find a version out there that would support that. Spinwrite is a good HD utility to consider having around too. i remember using that back when i was 12 years old to fix busted hardrives.
    AMD64 3800+ w/stock HSF | 2 x PowMax dual fan 550Watt | Gigabyte GA-K8NXP-SLI | GeIL 512MB DDR400 PC3200 Ultra Series Dual Channel Memory | 2 x EVGA 6600 GT 128MB PCI-E on SLI setup | Thermaltake Tsunami Case w/120mm

  5. #5
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    The app is Active Smart: http://www.ariolic.com/activesmart/ - supposed to be the best. For defrag I have 0&0 defrag: http://www.oo-software.com/en/produc...efrag/pro.html - set on auto.

    There's a lot of controvery and ridicule over Steve Gibson but spinrite was/is considered a great product I suppose
    Last edited by lynchknot; March 17th, 2005 at 01:24 AM.

  6. #6
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Quote Originally Posted by TestMAD
    if thats the case.. what cash_site said..try defragging. XP may say that you dont need to do it, but do it anyways. Lot's of MS stuff lies to you.
    No kiddin' look at this 16% (but one file?) and 37% I have defrag set to auto but it let it frag much

    Last edited by lynchknot; March 17th, 2005 at 17:58 PM.

  7. #7
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    How is it after the Defrag? What is stored on that E drive LK? page file?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  8. #8
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    oh yeah, I forgot I was going to post this. What do I need to do - boot time defrag? Increase my MTF zone?



    yes page file:

    Last edited by lynchknot; March 18th, 2005 at 02:19 AM.

  9. #9
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,852
    yeah thought it was the pagefile... I cant remember a direct tweak to defrag the pagefile.. but u could turn on the "Delete pagefile on shutdown" option, shutdown comps a few times, then disable option...

    MTF is fine, just Pagefile and Logfile? can you delete logfile files?

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

  10. #10
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    can't find it but I deleted an old KAV antivirus file that was in there - running defrag again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •