Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: quick launch icons

  1. #1
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536

    quick launch icons

    Hello group, I ran a search and could not come up with an answer. How do I put icons of my choosing on my taskbar quick launch? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Gold Member Blackwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    452
    just drag and drop the icon you want to be in the quick launch menu and you should be set

    if that doesn't work, right click in a blank space in the quick launch, then select open folder, and put all your shortcuts there, then they should appear on the menu

    hope that helps
    Blackwar

  3. #3
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Works thanks!

  4. #4
    Gold Member uschie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    west virginia
    Posts
    465
    Thank's B.W.

    I have been meaning to ask that very same question myself because droping them in there never worked.Now i'm in good shape and all fixed up

    Somewhere in Texas , there's a Village missing it's Idiot
    Cheers
    Ushie

  5. #5
    Junior Member babis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JHU
    Posts
    45
    As Blackwar mentioned.. Drag n drop

    here are some screenshots to help

    http://www.babis.us/winxp9.htm

  6. #6
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    holy cow babis!

    nice desktop



    cheers
    egghead

  7. #7
    Gold Member Blackwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    452
    Originally posted by babis
    As Blackwar mentioned.. Drag n drop

    here are some screenshots to help

    http://www.babis.us/winxp9.htm
    wow babis, this is one amazing desktop http://babis.us/ver1/6.JPG

    would u mind posting the wallpaper

    Blackwar

  8. #8
    Titanium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    blk helo target, WA
    Posts
    3,536
    Hey Babis, I want to put big 'uns on my desktop (icons) where can I get something similar?
    Last edited by lynchknot; July 27th, 2002 at 05:22 AM.

  9. #9
    Junior Member babis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JHU
    Posts
    45
    BW

    here it is


    Thanks a lot guys about the nice comments, I actually grew tired of the setup a while back... now I'm really liking my current setup..




    to get bigger icons? I'm not sure what you are talking about... all you need
    1. icons that have large sizes
    2. follow these steps

    01. Just unlock taskbar
    02. Select the quick launch area
    03. Select view >large icons.
    Last edited by babis; July 29th, 2002 at 11:35 AM.

  10. #10
    Gold Member Blackwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    452
    Thanks a lot babis

    your current desktop looks amazing too, wow

  11. #11
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    babis:

    ya made me want the xp experiance

    so i searched high and low
    there are some really good ones out there
    i found an ozzy style
    so i downloaded it and unzipped it
    winzip said it wanted to install it as a theme
    ok

    after install i chose the ozzy theme and my explorer and letterig were black
    i couldnt see my menus
    i was^%#^%#
    so i deleted my basic account and created a new one
    everything is fine until i click on my saved files to run
    "i dont have permission anymore"
    so i delete all accouts now im full admin

    what a hassel


    love that desktop you got tho


    lol

  12. #12
    Junior Member babis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JHU
    Posts
    45
    egghead

    To be perfectly honest, I'm a bit confused.... what are you talking about?

    You downloaded a theme and it messed up your computer?

    1. you'll need to download style xp or get something called a hacked uxtheme.dll file
    2. then you download a theme file
    3. unzip it.. and store in under the resources folder in your windows directory
    4. click on the .msstyle file and it should work..



    sorry the above instructions aren't detailed.. but for the time being.. just download stylexp the shareware and test it out..



    WHoops.. forgot to add a link to my desktop above here it is
    http://www.babis.us/images/july27th.JPG

    thanks again for the nice comments hehe..

  13. #13
    Precision Processor Super Moderator egghead's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    In Your Monitor
    Posts
    3,546
    i was in the middle of downloading stylexp
    i downloaded a cool ozzy theme so i unzipped it to read the readme
    but winzip wanted to install it as a theme
    ok.....
    then it complained about missing some files
    ok.....it should display the ozzy desktop, right?
    i chose the theme in display
    but it changed my explorer menus and text to black
    booting in safe mode worked but i couldnt change my normal settings to default
    upon reboot i had the same black text but a cool ozzy desktop
    i could see icons but no text
    so i booted in safe mode and deleted my account
    whew.....

    babis:
    i got into the modifying spirit
    i started to change my bootscreens and logon screens to some great ones
    and i found a bug

    *caution*
    do not install sp1 if your bootscreens and loginscreens have been altered
    it completly crashed after reboot and crashed trying safemode
    what a nightmare

    good thing i cloned my drive!
    it only took 8mins to format and re-install xp
    gotta love testing


    egghead
    Last edited by egghead; July 29th, 2002 at 20:03 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •