Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Maxtor 200 Gig reading as 131?????

  1. #1
    Silver Member cmputrskillme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    One High Maintenance Broad
    Posts
    299

    Maxtor 200 Gig reading as 131?????

    Hey guys,

    Trying to install a Maxtor 200 Gig ATA HD in a machine and it will not read correctly. Reads 131 gig. Do I need the tools? Not familiar with Maxtor tools, more familiar with WD tools. Downloaded something called Powermax, didn't do anything....can someone tell me what I need to do here?

    Thanks,
    Sharon

    System has XP updated with SP2....P4.

  2. #2
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Are you running the latest BIOS for the motherboard ?

    What board is it?

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  3. #3
    Silver Member cmputrskillme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    One High Maintenance Broad
    Posts
    299
    Hi Rev!

    Board is an Intel P4 865
    BIOS Ver. BF86510A.86A.0060.P16
    Celeron 2.6
    400 FSB/266

    Do you think a flash will solve this?

  4. #4
    Head Honcho Administrator Reverend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    England
    Posts
    14,045
    Try this updated BIOS dated 3/17/2005

    Read the instructions carefully on that page.

    =========== Please Read The Forum Rules ===========

  5. #5
    Silver Member cmputrskillme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    One High Maintenance Broad
    Posts
    299
    Thanks a mil Rev......downloaded, I'll get back to ya!

    Sharon

  6. #6
    Silver Member cmputrskillme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    One High Maintenance Broad
    Posts
    299
    Didn't work.....we may have solved some other issues with that update but, the drive still reading at 127 gb, any ideas????

    Sharon

  7. #7
    Silver Member cmputrskillme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    One High Maintenance Broad
    Posts
    299

    Angry

    HELP!!!!! I found the problem, tried the easiest fixes and they did not work. Says I have to do a bunch of registry editing as a last resort.

    I'm afraid to do this and as we all know Microsoft doesn't post clear instructions on stuff. FDISK reads the D#$M drive correctly, Windows XP says it is 131 with some 66 unallocated. This is nuts!!! Maxtor says if all this doesn't work I have to buy a $50 controller card with certain drivers with it. I've posted both links to this info. Main Board Bios is updated (Thanks Rev! )

    Microsoft LBA article
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;Q303013

    Maxtor's Answers
    http://maxtor.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/m...i=&p_topview=1

    Can someone clear up this fog??? This is a customer's machine.....must I dip and spend $50 more for a card???? Do I attempt to dig into folders in the registry and do this editing I KNOW I will totally screw up?

    Yep SP2 is installed.

    Thanks to you seasoned geniuses in advance!

    Sharon

  8. #8
    Silver Member cmputrskillme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    One High Maintenance Broad
    Posts
    299

    Formatting w/XP Home SP2 disk worked!?!?

    Well, I'm talking to myself here...

    Didn't want to do all that registry editing, did what maxtor suggested....and then

    My husband (who has had NO SCHOOLING AT ALL!!!!! ) came up with the idea of popping the Home Disk w SP2 on it just to see what it would read.

    I said yeah, but once you put it back in the system as slave it won't read correctly from C....it will still be 137.

    It worked, and I hate him.

    Whew! Glad I did NOT have to edit registry. So......for those of you having this problem with a Maxtor Large Capacity Drive (48 bit- LBA Problems) .......Make sure ya got an SP2 disk to use to format.....and try the Big Drive Enabler from Maxtor. Seems like I went up the tree and around the barn but still got there anyway.

    This thing is owta heeeya!

    Thanks,
    Sharon

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Super Moderator Big Booger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    JAPAN
    Posts
    10,660
    Give your hubby a pat on the backside Love it when solutions are homegrown. Cheers to your significant other.

  10. #10
    Security Intelligence TZ Veteran cash_site's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Software Paradise
    Posts
    3,735
    Glad to hear you got it sorted out Sharon, a little sorry we could get the info to you quick enough... I think your Hubby has a hidden talent (watch out PC repairers )

    Also, I think Large Harddisks will only become more of a problem as people upgrade. 127Gb is the limit for older motherboard/bios/windows etc (due to addressing limitations) and trial and error testing is required to fix the issue...

    Check BIOS, flash and enable LBA, ensure HD is recognised at full capacity
    Motherboard, should support SATA or ATA100 to ATA133
    Check FDISK reports full capacity
    if XP, use SP2, they updated some registry settings and explorer so Storage manager and my computer return correct results.
    Check HD manufacturer for updated tools and information.

    The list could be exhaustive, however, should give good starting point for users.

    --- 0wN3D by 3gG ---

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •