Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Tape Drive Problems

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5

    Tape Drive Problems

    I am currently running W@K Advanced Server with the latest service packs. I just installed a LTO tape drive into my Dell Poweredge 4400 server. This is the problem. I can see the tape drive in device manager, but can't see it in the removeable storage manager (RSM). What do I have to do to see the tape drive in RSM so I can use windows backup?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    39
    Have you checked out this article ?

    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=216328

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5
    Checked the drivers, reinstalled them again and still doesn't work.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    39
    What is the model of the LTO tape drive? What is the driver that the OS is using? What does the OS see the tape drive as , the inquiry string. Go to Device Manager, see if the tape drive is listed there and right click on and n the properties page on the general tab you will see the the inquiry string next to the name of the drive. It may require a firmware update.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5
    Here is the info:
    Model: Dell (Manfct by Certance) STU42001LW
    Driver: ViperW2K.SYS, ver 1.9, Driver Date: 8/26/04, Provider: Certance
    Listed in Device Manager as : Seagate Ultrium06242-XXX SCSI Sequential Device

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    39
    Hi, Trembita Firstly download the diagnostics and firmware update from Certance

    http://www.certance.com/support/util...del-STU42001LW

    and update the firmware if needed then run diags, any problems then remove the tape drive from device manager and remove the Certance driver (rename as *.old).
    check all the cables to the tape drive fro any damage and check the SCSI setting (5 or 6 and not conflicting)
    reconnected the tape drive up and reboot the system to check that the tape drive is seen on the SCSI bus.
    Once the tape drive is seen ok on the scsi bus
    Run Microsoft Windows Update and check if it provides the driver mentioned on the HCL
    http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/hcl/de...x?ItemID=16065

    Once the driver is installed

    Create a new RSM database.

    Stop the Removable Storage service and change the startup type to Disabled. Then reboot

    Browse to \systemroot\system32\ntmsdata\, and then rename all files in that
    folder to *.OLD.

    Change the Removable Storage service startup type to Automatic.

    Reboot

    Hope all of this fixes the problem

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for the info, but I have still had no luck.. I spoke to a tech from Dell and he said that the RSM could be corrupt. Could this be correct? If so what would be the remedy? Reinstalling OS?

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    39
    Did you create a new RSM database? If it is corrupt thats what you would have to do

    "Create a new RSM database.

    Stop the Removable Storage service and change the startup type to Disabled. Then reboot

    Browse to \systemroot\system32\ntmsdata\, and then rename all files in that
    folder to *.OLD.

    Change the Removable Storage service startup type to Automatic.

    Reboot"

    Also have you checke out the medis that you are using? Is it compatible?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    5
    I just did as you said, and still nothing in the RSM. The are LTO ultrium tapes, so I assume them to be compatible. Any other suggestions?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Greenock, Scotland
    Posts
    39
    Sorry , but I'm running out of ideas. does backup see the media? not the drive but the media set. Have you got the media in the drive when you are checking RSM?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •